Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Love blueberries but I didn't have milk and banana on hand. Instead used half cup vanilla yogurt, one and quarter cups applesauce and fourth cup honey in place of sugar and oil, added fourth cup ground flax seed instead of wheat germ to flour and oat mixture with one tsp cinnamon. Used two egg whites. Healthy muffins aren't supposed to be super sweet but this one came out just right. Used everything else called for. This recipe can be tweaked easily to satisfy. A great basic healthy muffin. will bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
fantastic! my 3 and 1 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love this recipe! After trying this recipe and finding that we liked it, I combined flour through walnuts (all the dry ingredients--I used 1/2 cup dried blueberries since fresh weren't available) and put them in quart-sized zip lock bags then taped the remaining ingredients list and directions to the outside. It didn't take long to assemble 6 of these handy mixes. This makes it super simple to bake a batch of these muffins when I'm too busy to bake. The only changes I made were to use brown sugar rather than white, replace the vegetable oil with applesauce, and substitute 3/4 cup plain yogurt plus 1/4 cup skim milk for the buttermilk. I use this recipe regularly. Perfect for sending out the door with my teenager who insists he doesn't eat breakfast. He eats these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were a big hit with everyone in the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great recipe, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
A really nice muffin, but a bit sweet. I think I will cut the sugar to 1/2 cup next time. Used dried blueberries because I cannot get fresh or frozen where I live. Also had to use all rolled oats in place of the wheat germ, etc. Served them warm on Christmas morning and they were actually better a few hours later. Also used pecans (preference) and felt the nuts really added to the taste/texture. (Kept the rest of the recipe the same.) A definite keeper. Plan to try them today with dried cherries & almonds. Update: The second time I made these, the banana was riper and a bit bigger than the first attempt. I would recommend using a small to med banana that is not overly ripe or else these taste like banana muffins with fruit bits. Half-cup sugar was fine, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These are my husband's favorite muffins of all time! Extremely healthy without tasting like it. I substitute egg whites for the eggs, applesauce for the oil, and 1/2 cup (or less) Blue Agave syrup for the sugar. I brush warm honey on the tops after they are out of the oven. They freeze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
yummy. no oil, sub sour cream. Add cinnamon, all spice and nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Amazing muffins! I added the spices that the most helpful reviewer suggested. Look forward to making them again... I used frozen blueberries, and if you don't want your batter turning blue, add the berries after all the ingredients are mixed. I put my in when I was mixing all the ingredient together and it turned my batter purple. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Awesome! My 9 yr old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States