Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious!! I omitted the wheat germ and oat bran (b/c I didn't have them on hand), doubled the wheat flour, used 1 cup of milk with lemon juice (sub for buttermilk); and like user sinsofangels, left out the oil, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp all spice. They looked and tasted great!! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
The best AND most beautiful-looking healthy muffin. I have looked for that "perfect" healthy muffin recipe forever. I used 1/2 c. Oat bran, no wheat germ. I used OG non-GMO canola oil, it's only 1 T! I used 21/2 T unsw applesauce too. I used a little less than 1/2 c. raw sugar and even the non-health nuts LOVED them. I also used whole grain oats (not quick-cooking) put them in processor until just like finer, quick-cooking oats. I processed the walnuts as well till minced and I think that really does wonderful things to the texture. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I liked it but thought it was a bit bland. My husband and two boys all ate the entire muffin pan within the day so I think they liked it more than I. I'd make it again but would possibly add some lemon zest or something else to add a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
These turned out great, and I'm not much of a baker! They had a good balance between moisture and the crisp top I like in a muffin. I made a few substitutions: 1. I used only whole wheat flour, since I was out of white. 2. Left out the wheat bran, since I also didn't have it. 3. Whole milk instead of buttermilk. Next time I might add some cinnamon. Awesome with coffee for my afternoon fika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystaB.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
These are AMAZING! I made with brown sugar instead of white, wheat bran instead of oat bran (didn't have oat bran), applesauce instead of oil (heaping table spoon), 3 or 4 baby bananas, sour cream instead of buttermilk (didn't have milk or buttermilk), and added frozen raspberries, chia seeds and flax seeds. Cooked for about 17 mins. They were fantastic - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great muffin! Great as is, but better with 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 white, and I used cranberries the last time. I think any frozen berry will do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Love blueberries but I didn't have milk and banana on hand. Instead used half cup vanilla yogurt, one and quarter cups applesauce and fourth cup honey in place of sugar and oil, added fourth cup ground flax seed instead of wheat germ to flour and oat mixture with one tsp cinnamon. Used two egg whites. Healthy muffins aren't supposed to be super sweet but this one came out just right. Used everything else called for. This recipe can be tweaked easily to satisfy. A great basic healthy muffin. will bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
fantastic! my 3 and 1 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love this recipe! After trying this recipe and finding that we liked it, I combined flour through walnuts (all the dry ingredients--I used 1/2 cup dried blueberries since fresh weren't available) and put them in quart-sized zip lock bags then taped the remaining ingredients list and directions to the outside. It didn't take long to assemble 6 of these handy mixes. This makes it super simple to bake a batch of these muffins when I'm too busy to bake. The only changes I made were to use brown sugar rather than white, replace the vegetable oil with applesauce, and substitute 3/4 cup plain yogurt plus 1/4 cup skim milk for the buttermilk. I use this recipe regularly. Perfect for sending out the door with my teenager who insists he doesn't eat breakfast. He eats these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States