Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The kids loved them. I used applesauce instead of banana, raisin bran (minus the raisins)instead of the bran, and whole wheat pastry flour (for the ww flour) based on what I had. I added a little extra blueberries and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very tasty recipe. I did use white whole wheat flour for the whole 1 1/2 cups and they did not turn out tough. I used 1/2 cup evaporated cane sugar instead of white and added a bit more wheat germ and oat bran to account for some of a dry ingredient (the sugar) being removed. I also used pecans instead of walnuts--my husband especially noticed this and said really, really preferred the pecans. Muffins are sweet without being overly so. Overall, a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I would prefer more blueberries, and at least twice as much nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I thought these were good. Although, they dont look much like the photo. If they are made as 12, as suggested, they are quite huge. This may be the first muffin I have made with only 1 tablespoon of oil and no added butter. I liked the large pieces of blueberries and added walnuts. Only change I made was using extra quick oats for the oar bran, wheat bran for the wheat germ, half brown and half white sugar, and white whole wheat for regular whole wheat. They took 27 minutes to bake and 20 minutes to cool before popping out of the pan. I baked them in my Cuisinart pan sprayed lighty with PAM spray. My only issue was the base of the muffin had this odd spongey, wet, yet chewy texture. I have never had that before in a muffin. There is so much other stuff going on flavor or texture wise that it is not too bad. Either way, they will work great for breakfast or in lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
These were delicious! - but I changed the recipe a bit. I didn't have quick oats, so I added more oat bran and I didn't have a banana, so I added applesauce. I also used brown sugar and white wheat. They were perfectly moist and didn't have that overly "healthy" taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wonderful! I've made these since 2012! I make four batches (uses 1 quart buttermilk) -- two exactly as the recipe is written, one with 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the banana (for the non-banana guy) and no nuts, and one with applesauce sub again with added apples cut up into the batter and pecans instead of walnuts. Add a whole nut to top of muffin before baking to identify. Once I didn't have AP flour and used Self Rising and they turned out not as flat (from extra baking powder) and tasted the same. IF you use the Self Rising flour, you can fill the muffin cups heaping (rounded) as they do not rise a lot and the batter is really fluffy. If you use the AP flour, this will make them spread over the edge, so stick with the recipe directions of filling to the top. I use frozen blueberries as I make these year round. One reviewer said the muffins were not sweet enough - I would think that depended on your fruit. Need a REALLY ripe banana (black speckled one) and sweet blueberries. The wild blueberries are not always sweet and add extra grit. If you get frozen blueberries, feel the bag, you want the large ones which are generally pretty sweet. Stir frozen blueberries into flour to coat them, when adding liquid do not overmix or turns batter blue. Large ones sink so reserve a few for top before baking. Real buttermilk is key. Tried with the powdered kind and made a taste difference, not bad, but not as good as the real thing! Pint size is perfect for two batches. Freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made these muffins for my mom. She absolutely loved them, as did I. I am supposed to be on a diet but I couldn't resist! I did make a few changes, though. I used ground almonds instead of the bran and I used applesauce instead of the banana. Thank you for a wonderful recipe:) !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel
Living In: Monsey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this recipe gluten free and my whole family--two adults, four kids-- loves it! Here are the gluten free substitutions I use: For both white and whole wheat flour -- g-free all purpose flour blend* For 1/4 C oat bran -- 1/4 C flax For 1/4 C wheat germ -- 1/4 C almond flour Also, if you make your own Greek yogurt, you often have a bunch of whey sitting around. I have used it as a substitution for the buttermilk and it tastes great with fewer fat calories and added protein. *everyone has their favorite g-free flour blends. Mine is 1 1/4 C white sorghum flour, 1 1/4 C white rice flour, 1/2 C tapioca flour, and 2 tsp xanthan gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These are definitely "healthy tasting" muffins. Not sweet at all. They're dense and flavorful but I can imagine if you don't make adjustments like I did and add some spices (I used cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice) they would be very bland. I left out the banana, added ? c. coconut, substituted extra oats (used regular not quick cooking) and whole wheat flour for the bran and wheat germ. I also used applesauce instead of oil and didn't have buttermilk on hand so used about ¾ c. plain yogurt and another ½ c. They're low in sugars and high in fiber. I added an additional ¼ c. or so of walnuts and those and the fresh blueberries I used really make the flavor stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Family loved these! Husband said it was the best muffin recipe yet. Used 1/2 c. brown sugar instead of white sugar. Instead of buttermilk I used 1/2 c. 1% milk and 1/2 c. heavy cream. Used 1/2 c. of flax & 1/2 c. rolled oats instead of the wheat germ/bran. Used partially thawed frozen berries and it was perfect. Upped the chopped walnut content a bit. Next time will add some cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States