Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I used coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil, pecans rather than walnuts, and next time will try a different fruit - strawberry or apple, probably - instead of the banana. I used fresh blueberries. Nice texture and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Really liked it! The advice to fill to the top of the muffin liners was good. Perfect. I might make these without the blueberries…it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
These were much better that I expected. Very moist! The only thing I changed was adding 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix. Difficult to believe that they are healthy (or at least healthier than regular blueberry muffins)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Awesome recipe! to make them a little healthier...use all whole wheat flour, substitute the 3/4 cup of white sugar for 1/4 cup dark brown sugar and leave out the salt. You don't know the difference. Also if you are looking for the oat bran or wheat germ, look down the health food isle of almost any supermarket, Red Mill is a popular brand and you can get all kind of goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
These are great! I was kind of skeptical about using wheat germ and oat bran, but you can't even taste it. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was great. We do love fluffy blueberry muffins made with white flour and a streusel topping, but I wanted a healthier everyday muffin for my family. Followed the recipe pretty close but I did use 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white. I also increased the blueberries to 1 1/2 cups. This is definitely our new blueberry muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
These muffins were a little dense but very tasty. I also made my own buttermilk with a tablespoon of lemon and 1% milk. I added a full pint of fresh blueberries and omitted the nuts. I added a pinch of nutmeg and some cinnamon as well. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
these were okay for a muffin recipe. For how healthy they were they were good. I doubled it, used all whole wheat flour, left out the oil, used a third of the sugar, added an extra banana and did two cups of oats but left out the wheat germ and oat bran, and mixed two tablespoons of lemon juice with two cups of skim milk for buttermilk. The texture shocked me, it was perfect, well, not fabulous but definitely the best I've seen for such a low fat recipe. But the taste was really not great, it was extremely bland even though I added a little extra vanilla. Definitely some lemon zest would help, but even that I'm not sure would be enough. Maybe some spices? It also definitely needed more salt. When I put a little bit of salted butter on them it was yummy, but that really defeats the purpose of a healthy muffin recipe. So amazing texture for what you get but bad flavour, much improved by salt or extra flavourings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
These muffins were fabulous! I did not have oat bran so I upped the amount of oats I used. These muffins were moist and flavorful, even my picky 5 year old liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I loved these muffins! they are hearty and yummy. glad I made them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mahina07
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States