Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I followed someone else's suggestion to replace the wheat germ and oat bran by using 3/4 c quick oats and 1 cup whole wheat flour, since I didn't have wheat germ and oat bran. It came out fine. This muffin has a 'heartier' feel, not fluffy like traditional muffins, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I was missing many ingredients and they were still good. I had only white flour and sugar and 1percent milk. I did add some nutmeg and my son and mom loved them. I used 1cup of oatmeal because I didn't have wheat germ or bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I made these muffins for breakfast this morning and they were a big hit. Also filling - kids gobbled them up but then could only eat one (they also had egg & smoothie). Delicious!! Usually I try to make a recipe exactly according to directions before rating, but this recipe is very flexible so I wanted to share how adaptable it is. The few ingredient changes I made were accepted cooking substitutions, nothing very unusual. I didn't have wheat germ so I doubled the oat bran. I mixed vinegar with skim milk to make buttermilk substitute. No nuts because I didn't have any. And I added a tsp cinnamon to dry ingredients. The cooking changes I made were based on previous muffin baking experience. I think the recipe's instructions would be fine, perhaps just not as pretty of a muffin. Specifically, I mixed wet with dry before adding blueberries. Also dredged berries in flour before gently stirring into batter. (This technique keeps the berries from sinking to the bottom of the muffin and from discoloring the batter.). Then I let the batter sit for 8-10 minutes to allow the baking powder to work. (Used the time to clean up the kitchen). All in all, the recipe's ingredient combination and proportions were perfect and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Most amazing recipe ever...will def be making this again and again!!! Make exactly as said..love it...better than a restaurant !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These were very good and healthy for a quick breakfast meal. I got the calories to about 110 per muffin. Used EVOO instead of veg oil and left out nuts and added extra banana. Very moist. PS don't leave them out on counter for too long they will go sour by the end of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The kids loved them. I used applesauce instead of banana, raisin bran (minus the raisins)instead of the bran, and whole wheat pastry flour (for the ww flour) based on what I had. I added a little extra blueberries and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very tasty recipe. I did use white whole wheat flour for the whole 1 1/2 cups and they did not turn out tough. I used 1/2 cup evaporated cane sugar instead of white and added a bit more wheat germ and oat bran to account for some of a dry ingredient (the sugar) being removed. I also used pecans instead of walnuts--my husband especially noticed this and said really, really preferred the pecans. Muffins are sweet without being overly so. Overall, a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I would prefer more blueberries, and at least twice as much nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I thought these were good. Although, they dont look much like the photo. If they are made as 12, as suggested, they are quite huge. This may be the first muffin I have made with only 1 tablespoon of oil and no added butter. I liked the large pieces of blueberries and added walnuts. Only change I made was using extra quick oats for the oar bran, wheat bran for the wheat germ, half brown and half white sugar, and white whole wheat for regular whole wheat. They took 27 minutes to bake and 20 minutes to cool before popping out of the pan. I baked them in my Cuisinart pan sprayed lighty with PAM spray. My only issue was the base of the muffin had this odd spongey, wet, yet chewy texture. I have never had that before in a muffin. There is so much other stuff going on flavor or texture wise that it is not too bad. Either way, they will work great for breakfast or in lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
These were delicious! - but I changed the recipe a bit. I didn't have quick oats, so I added more oat bran and I didn't have a banana, so I added applesauce. I also used brown sugar and white wheat. They were perfectly moist and didn't have that overly "healthy" taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States