Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I am going to give this a five star because I think had I used blueberries like it called for it would have been perfect. I used dried cranberries I think they have a lot more sugar contant. Hint if using dried cranberries cut back on sugar. Also added 1/2 teaspoon cinammon maybe will used 3/4 teaspoon next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Love it!!! These taste so good its hard to beleive they are under 200 calories! There is a lot of sugar in it though... maybe I would put in half the amount of splenda next time instead... and I would change the oil for apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Sugar free version: These came out great! I used 1/2 cup brown sugar replacement and 1/4 cup white sugar replacement and an extra 1/2 cup of 2% milk. I also added 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. . Regular, old-fashioned, long cooking oats were all we had available to use and worked just as well, contributing just a little extra fiber. The extra milk is needed as sugar replacements don't melt the way regular sugar does. Baked products come out hard and dry without adding more liquid. I also let the batter rest for about 10 minutes before baking to let the extra milk absorb into the batter a little more. The muffins came out moist and flavorful. My husband rates this recipe 5 stars and he is a gourmet cook! We'll be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Wow! These are the best blueberry muffins I have ever had...no joke. I wanted a healthy morning muffin for the kids and this is exactly what I was looking for. I use buttermilk powder, so I boiled my cup of water for buttermilk and added in the oat and wheat bran, as well as oats with 3tbs buttermilk powder so they could soak in the hot water and soften. Then I mixed in other ingredients. These made 12 good size muffins and they took me 25 minutes to bake at 350. Thank you for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Wow! I will make these again and again and again. I used all whole wheat flour and added some protein powder. Also used skim milk instead of buttermilk since didn't have any on hand. Delicious! These are going to be made in regular rotation at my house :) Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I don't often write a review but need to Share how good this one is! I have tried many healthy muffin recipes and my and hub and I like this one best. I can't believe how light and fluffy they are. I actually used flaxseed meal instead of the bran because I didn't have bran, and skim milk with a tbs of lemon juice instead of buttermilk. Those were the only subs. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Like so many others have said, these are amazing! Per the previous reviewer's suggestions, I substituted 1/2 apple sauce instead of the bananas, and added cinnamon and nutmeg. I also omitted the oil and used soy milk instead of buttermilk. Finally, I didn't have oat bran, so I substituted ground flax. I was skeptical that the instructions didn't say to grease the pan or anything, but these easily slid out once cooled. They are the perfect combination of soft and chewy! This one is definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I used all "all-purpose" flour and substituted 1/4 cup brown sugar for the 3/4 cup white sugar. I also used 1/4 cup ground flaxseed in place of the wheat germ. I replaced the oil with apple sauce. Tasty and healthy muffin for under 200 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These muffins were amazingly delicious! They were moist and sweet, by far the best muffins I've ever made. My roommates almost ate the entire first batch despite the fact that they are healthy! I did follow some tips by other reviewers. I substituted the oil for apple sauce, I added a tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, and I also used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of using any white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Not bad - lots of healthy grains and blueberries. But, not that great - think I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States