Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These were great! I didn't have oat bran, so I used flax instead. I also used frozen berries, so I put a little more oats in. I think I would use at least 1/2 brown sugar next time and some cinnamon for a little more depth of flavor. They don't sell buttermilk here in Puerto Rico, so I mixed 2 Tablespoons of vinegar in with my milk. I also used large eggs. This is a great way to use up bananas too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I rarely review, but I felt like I needed to for this recipe. These muffins are absolutely wonderful!! I am always hesitant to make healthy pastry items as they always turn out to have an odd texture and lackluster taste. Not so with these. My mother in law even asked for the recipe and my husband loves them. I would definitely recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
It came out wonderfully! I made a few changes, however. I used all whole wheat flour and instead of including oat bran and wheat germ, I used 3/4 cup of quick cooking oats. I don't like walnuts and so I used finely chopped peanuts (although, next time, I think I'll exclude nuts entirely). I also used vinegar and milk instead of buttermilk and maple syrup because I couldn't find my vanilla extract. In any case, it came out very soft and delicious. I fully intend to experiment with this recipe. Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Awesome muffin! I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so used a small container of lowfat vanilla yoghurt & 1/2 cup of almond milk. Also used splenda sugar blend, rather than plain sugar. Tasted great & probably cut a few calories as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
cooked these this morning - family loved them! I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil, turbinado sugar instead of white & low fat buttermilk instead of regular. The muffins were still moist & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Yum! Absolutely delicious, and great texture. I used applesauce instead of banana. I did not add berries- my kids like plain! Will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
mmmmmmmm, I'm so thankful for this recipe! I changed/added a few things: 1. 1.5 c whole wheat pastry flower. 2. 3/4 c light brown sugar packed 3. 1/4 flax seed. 4. 1 c non-fat greek yogart 5. splash of unsweetened light soy milk 6. 1 tablesppon coconut butter or oil, whatever its called!!! :) My husband and I are excited to run out the door in the mornings with these muffins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I made this for my daughters school project and I must say it is healthy and delicious. Her classmate and teacher love it. I added one banana and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Super yummy, wow. I also substituted applesauce for the oil and use half ww pastry flour and ww flour. I added 1/2 t cinnamon, 1/4 t nutmeg, 1/2 c chopped frozen raspberries, 1/4 c ground flaxseed and 1/4 Greek plain yogurt. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I am going to give this a five star because I think had I used blueberries like it called for it would have been perfect. I used dried cranberries I think they have a lot more sugar contant. Hint if using dried cranberries cut back on sugar. Also added 1/2 teaspoon cinammon maybe will used 3/4 teaspoon next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States