Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this recipe gluten free and my whole family--two adults, four kids-- loves it! Here are the gluten free substitutions I use: For both white and whole wheat flour -- g-free all purpose flour blend* For 1/4 C oat bran -- 1/4 C flax For 1/4 C wheat germ -- 1/4 C almond flour Also, if you make your own Greek yogurt, you often have a bunch of whey sitting around. I have used it as a substitution for the buttermilk and it tastes great with fewer fat calories and added protein. *everyone has their favorite g-free flour blends. Mine is 1 1/4 C white sorghum flour, 1 1/4 C white rice flour, 1/2 C tapioca flour, and 2 tsp xanthan gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These are definitely "healthy tasting" muffins. Not sweet at all. They're dense and flavorful but I can imagine if you don't make adjustments like I did and add some spices (I used cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice) they would be very bland. I left out the banana, added ? c. coconut, substituted extra oats (used regular not quick cooking) and whole wheat flour for the bran and wheat germ. I also used applesauce instead of oil and didn't have buttermilk on hand so used about ¾ c. plain yogurt and another ½ c. They're low in sugars and high in fiber. I added an additional ¼ c. or so of walnuts and those and the fresh blueberries I used really make the flavor stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Family loved these! Husband said it was the best muffin recipe yet. Used 1/2 c. brown sugar instead of white sugar. Instead of buttermilk I used 1/2 c. 1% milk and 1/2 c. heavy cream. Used 1/2 c. of flax & 1/2 c. rolled oats instead of the wheat germ/bran. Used partially thawed frozen berries and it was perfect. Upped the chopped walnut content a bit. Next time will add some cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
A good healthy fibre rich muffin. Made a few changes though - used all whole wheat flour, 2 bananas, brown sugar, I cup milk with a tbsp of lemon instead of buttermilk. I was happy with the results. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I really wanted to like them. I found both this recipe and another called "Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins" at the same time in my search for a more nutritional muffin. I made them both within days of each other and there was no comparison. These are dry, flavorless and have that roughage texture. And they only get drier as the days go on so I still have 6 sitting on the counter with no takers. The other recipe's muffins were gone in a flash, so I'm afraid the print out for this one is going straight to the recycle bin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
AWESOME!! As so many others have stated this recipe is VERY amenable to variation! I used banana and strawberries ...yum yum! I used all wheat pastry flour, 1/2 brown sugar- 1/2 Splenda (no white sugar), strawberry applesauce for the oil, and 2 Egg Beaters in place of whole egg, 2 packs bananas and cream instant oatmeal in place of oatmeal and oat bran (didn't have). Used slivered almonds for walnuts (personal choice).. Also added almond extract, cinnamon, nutmeg. INCREDIBLE!! Hubby even likes them! Can't wait to try other flavor combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I guess I didn't want it this healthy. It was very bland and not sweet at all. And too grainy in texture for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Blueberry muffins were a Christmas morning tradition when I was growing up, but until this recipe, I had not found one I wanted to make my own. We really liked these! Didn't have oat bran, so I used wheat bran instead. Since DH is diabetic, I substituted stevia blend for the sugar. Also, my banana was a bit small, so I used about 1/2 cup applesauce, omitting the oil, and these were fabulous! However, other than substituting the stevia blend for sugar, I think these would be fabulous as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very nice texture and taste. Instead of a whole cup of blueberries, I added maybe 2/3 c. blueberries and made up the rest (to 1 c.) with dried cranberries and a few currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States