Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is THE BEST recipe for Blueberry Muffins I have ever tried. Full of flavor and natual ingredients make it a hit as far as I am concerned. A Great big thanks to ZoPooh! Lovelaffs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Wow! A blueberry muffin recipe I can feel good about eating! These muffins were so filling and tasted wonderful. The bananas and berries sweeten the muffins so well, I might reduce the sugar next time. I didn't have any oat bran, so I put an extra 1/8 cup of wheat germ and oats (regular, I didn't have quick cooking). I also used olive oil instead of veggie. I did have to cook the muffins about 20 min. They were worth the wait. Thank you so much for this recipe. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Very good and very healthy. I omitted the nuts, decreased the sugar slightly, and used sour milk, and a frozen banana and frozen blueberries. Very hearty, nice taste and texture. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
These muffins are delicious!! The walnuts and banana make them a little sweet and crunchy. I'll definitely be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I only have one complaint and it's all my fault. I used Irish oat instead of oatmeal, as that was all I had. I tried soaking the oats in the buttermilk for 30 minutes but that did not help. They were a bit crunchy. I generally use applesauce instead of oil, and cut the sugar in 1/2 but this recipe called for such a small amount of both that I did not bother. The only other change I made was to omit nuts (my kids don't like them) and I used over 2 cups of blueberries...made for 12 HUGE muffins. Next time (and there WILL be a next time) I'll make sure I have oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I made this recipe for a number of moms, because it contains quite a few lactogenic ingredients. Everyone loved them, kids included. I made the following substitutions: one-half cup of honey and no sugar, all-bran instead of oatbran because I was out of oatbran, and I added ground flaxseed. Two of these make a great breakfast that you can eat on the go, or while tending to small children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Healthy and great-tasting! I doubled the recipe, and substituted ground flax seed for the wheat germ because I didn't have any. I had to bake the muffins for about 22 minutes (perhaps because I 2x the recipe?)and they turned out beautifully. My husband and kids love them! I'd definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
These were great muffins! We made them with wild blueberries and, though it hurts me to admit it, all were gone in one day and only 3 people to blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I enjoy baked goods and this is among my favorites especially because of its health value. But I will note that I changed a few things according to what was available to me and maybe better. Changes: 1) instead of all-purpose flour, I used whole wheat pastry flour 2)instead of just regular blueberries, I used wild dried blueberries and dried cranberries, waiting until the batter was in the muffin cups to add them -one small spoon of blueberries and one small spoon of cranberries (the amounts each covered a half of the batter's surface in the cup) -and then mixed the berries and batter in the cups (I used a chopstick for this) 3) instead of using white granulated sugar, I used packed brown sugar in about the same amount as the granulated sugar, if not a little bit more. I did this to continue the theme of healthy ingredients and earthy flavor. The result was an EXCELLENT muffin that in my opinion is better than some found in restaurants. The muffins are sweet, fairly light for a wheat-laden muffin and has berry in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEET_KITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
A friend recommended these to me. Since they are healthy, I doubted they would be good, but they were gone in a couple of days! Even my 1 year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States