Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I bumped mine up & made them taste great & they were fluffy. Make it 1 tbsp vanilla extract & 1 tbsp baking powder. Also I added 2 more eggs, 1 c oats total so they were like bakery muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This recipe is such a great find! I have been making these with m leftover bananas for about a year now- my kids beg for them from time to time. So versatile, I switch things up each time I make them. I use all whole wheat flour now and brown sugar instead of white. More oats and flour may be subbed if you don't have oat bran and wheat germ. My kids don't care for walnuts, we don't miss them. I use applesauce instead of oil and an extra banana. Try a handful of mini chocolate chips instead of blueberries, or chopped apple and cinnamon... I could go on and on. Also, I keep frozen blueberries on hand and use these most of the time, no need to thaw. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
These are pretty good. I chose this recipe to help me use up some things I had around, but I am surprised by the flavor in such a healthy muffin. I replaced the white sugar with brown, and added cinnamon, nutmeg and extra blueberries. definately a lot tastier than I expected and very moist from the added brown sugar and blueberries. My berries were frozen and I just added them to the dry ingredients right out of the freezer, then stirred in the wet ingredients, no colors bled at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Yummy! I had some red huckleberries that I had picked and didn't know what to do with. They are very moist even with just the little oil. I used 1/2 cup thick oats for the oat bran and quick cooking oats and ground flax seed for the wheat germ and toasted hazelnuts for the walnuts. I think if you use this basic recipe and modify somewhat, you are still going to come out with a winner. I might try a little less sugar next time because of personal preference, but am definitely keeping this recipe. Thanks for submitting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCapri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Very Good; followed recipe as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These are good... no doubt, but I wouldn't call this a 5 star recipe. I made them 6 days ago and there are still 2 left (in our house, that says a lot). On the upside, they keep very well in the refrigerator. I will probably make these again as lunch snacks for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I didn't have any wheat germ, so I added 1/8 cup more oats and 1/8 cup more oat bran. Instead of the 3/4 cup white sugar, I used 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed). I omitted the nuts, and instead of a banana (cause I had none) I added 1/2 cup applesauce. I also just added a bit of vinegar to the milk instead of buttermilk and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I hadn't realized I was out of eggs until I had already started making these so I just added a bit of water to the mix. I also used saskatoons instead of blueberries. I guess as I am writing this I am realizing how much I did change the recipe. ( i usually don't leave reviews when I've made so many drastic changes). But if you are looking for a versatile recipe....HERE IT IS! They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Such a great recipe and so versatile! I am not a cupcake or muffin baker, but this recipe was a breeze. I forgot the wheat germ on my first attempt and they turned out fine. I took this initial batch on a camping trip with my bf's family. They're still acclimating themselves to my healthier/vegetarian cooking style and a bit hesitant at times to try my fare. I can proudly say they gobbled them up! His mother took the leftovers home and asked for the recipe too :) I used cranberries and pecans the second time around and they were just as wonderful. I plan on using different nut & fruit combinations each time. I freeze a batch at a time, thaw 1 or 2 overnight, pop them in the microwave in the AM and enjoy my relatively guilt free breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmeow79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These muffins are amazing! It took me a while to find the oat bran in the grocery store (organic food aisle in Kroger btw), but the muffins were simple to make, healthy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenia Cato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe that contains so many "good" healthy ingredients and yet is very low fat and still manages to stay so moist and lovely. I found it when searching for a recipe for blueberries and was very impressed! This will be a recipe I use over and over again. I made this recipe exactly as stated but I am certain it would work with other diced fruit equally as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States