Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
These muffins were a little dense but very tasty. I also made my own buttermilk with a tablespoon of lemon and 1% milk. I added a full pint of fresh blueberries and omitted the nuts. I added a pinch of nutmeg and some cinnamon as well. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
these were okay for a muffin recipe. For how healthy they were they were good. I doubled it, used all whole wheat flour, left out the oil, used a third of the sugar, added an extra banana and did two cups of oats but left out the wheat germ and oat bran, and mixed two tablespoons of lemon juice with two cups of skim milk for buttermilk. The texture shocked me, it was perfect, well, not fabulous but definitely the best I've seen for such a low fat recipe. But the taste was really not great, it was extremely bland even though I added a little extra vanilla. Definitely some lemon zest would help, but even that I'm not sure would be enough. Maybe some spices? It also definitely needed more salt. When I put a little bit of salted butter on them it was yummy, but that really defeats the purpose of a healthy muffin recipe. So amazing texture for what you get but bad flavour, much improved by salt or extra flavourings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
These muffins were fabulous! I did not have oat bran so I upped the amount of oats I used. These muffins were moist and flavorful, even my picky 5 year old liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I loved these muffins! they are hearty and yummy. glad I made them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mahina07
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Loved these. Improvised a bit based on what I had on hand. Added some coconut, too. So delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Delicious! The only change I made was to double the quick cooking oats because i did not have oat bran on hand. I will be making these often. A great source of fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
would like the nutrition information...calories, sugar, fiber, protein, etc. thank u for the many, many great recipes I have tried and loved/b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is my new "go-to" muffin recipe! After making these, I won't use any other recipe. I had to modify it since I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand and didn't want to go to the store. First of all, I added 1 large granny smith apple, peeled and grated into the batter just because. They kind of cooked away, but the flavor was great. I didn't have oat bran or wheat germ, so I increased the oatmeal to 1/2 cup from 1/4 cup. I also added 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon to the batter and made a streusel topping by combining 1/4 cup chopped walnuts and 1/4 cup brown sugar, along with a dash of cinnamon and sprinkled all the muffins on top before baking. it took about 5 additional minutes to cook. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
loved this recipe. the only changes I made were that I used oat flour in place of the wheat, omitted the oat bran and used 1/2 c oats instead, substituted 1/2 c honey for the sugar. Turned out lovely. not overly sweet this way-- but nutritious and wonderful for supper or breakfast. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I made these for my boyfriend and they were delicious! I wanted to keep them all to myself :) The only problem I came across was that it took over 20 minutes for the muffins to bake, which isn't a big deal. Otherwise this is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States