Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
The batter smelled so delicious, as soon as the muffins were in the oven, I licked the mixing bowl clean! I only made a couple changes, and it turned out fine: 1. in place of buttermilk, Fannie Farmer suggests 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice :) 2. instead of oat bran and wheat germ, I added an extra 1/4 cup of each type of flower 3. used 1 cup of frozen blackberries in place of blueberries 4. added an extra teaspoon of vanilla 5. added a teaspoon of cinnamon They were super filling, 2 was enough for breakfast, and they tasted amazing :) the only issue I have with the recipe is that they needed to be cooked ALOT longer than 15 minutes, but maybe it is just my oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
These muffins were surprisingly good! They came out really moist, which was especially surprising with only 1 T. of oil! Ours did spread a bit onto the pan, so I'd recommend adding a little more of the dry ingredients and/or baking at a higher temperature next time so the outside bakes quickly enough that they hold their shape while they rise. By the way, if your muffins turn green, it's because your blueberries' juice got into the muffin ingredients, and blue+yellow=green. It's not the recipe's fault; it's science. (If your kids eat enough blueberries, their, um, issue will turn green, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I agreed with several, that these don't taste "heathly"...just yummy! The only subs I made were brown sugar for white and flax meal for oat flour. Great to keep on hand for breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Love this recipe! I have used both the banana and substituted applesauce and either way these are delicious. I have had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I'll definitely be making these again! Fresh blueberries from the farmer's market make this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I used coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil, pecans rather than walnuts, and next time will try a different fruit - strawberry or apple, probably - instead of the banana. I used fresh blueberries. Nice texture and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Really liked it! The advice to fill to the top of the muffin liners was good. Perfect. I might make these without the blueberries…it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
These were much better that I expected. Very moist! The only thing I changed was adding 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix. Difficult to believe that they are healthy (or at least healthier than regular blueberry muffins)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Awesome recipe! to make them a little healthier...use all whole wheat flour, substitute the 3/4 cup of white sugar for 1/4 cup dark brown sugar and leave out the salt. You don't know the difference. Also if you are looking for the oat bran or wheat germ, look down the health food isle of almost any supermarket, Red Mill is a popular brand and you can get all kind of goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
These are great! I was kind of skeptical about using wheat germ and oat bran, but you can't even taste it. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States