Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
would like the nutrition information...calories, sugar, fiber, protein, etc. thank u for the many, many great recipes I have tried and loved/b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is my new "go-to" muffin recipe! After making these, I won't use any other recipe. I had to modify it since I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand and didn't want to go to the store. First of all, I added 1 large granny smith apple, peeled and grated into the batter just because. They kind of cooked away, but the flavor was great. I didn't have oat bran or wheat germ, so I increased the oatmeal to 1/2 cup from 1/4 cup. I also added 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon to the batter and made a streusel topping by combining 1/4 cup chopped walnuts and 1/4 cup brown sugar, along with a dash of cinnamon and sprinkled all the muffins on top before baking. it took about 5 additional minutes to cook. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
loved this recipe. the only changes I made were that I used oat flour in place of the wheat, omitted the oat bran and used 1/2 c oats instead, substituted 1/2 c honey for the sugar. Turned out lovely. not overly sweet this way-- but nutritious and wonderful for supper or breakfast. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I made these for my boyfriend and they were delicious! I wanted to keep them all to myself :) The only problem I came across was that it took over 20 minutes for the muffins to bake, which isn't a big deal. Otherwise this is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious!! I omitted the wheat germ and oat bran (b/c I didn't have them on hand), doubled the wheat flour, used 1 cup of milk with lemon juice (sub for buttermilk); and like user sinsofangels, left out the oil, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp all spice. They looked and tasted great!! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
The best AND most beautiful-looking healthy muffin. I have looked for that "perfect" healthy muffin recipe forever. I used 1/2 c. Oat bran, no wheat germ. I used OG non-GMO canola oil, it's only 1 T! I used 21/2 T unsw applesauce too. I used a little less than 1/2 c. raw sugar and even the non-health nuts LOVED them. I also used whole grain oats (not quick-cooking) put them in processor until just like finer, quick-cooking oats. I processed the walnuts as well till minced and I think that really does wonderful things to the texture. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I liked it but thought it was a bit bland. My husband and two boys all ate the entire muffin pan within the day so I think they liked it more than I. I'd make it again but would possibly add some lemon zest or something else to add a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
These turned out great, and I'm not much of a baker! They had a good balance between moisture and the crisp top I like in a muffin. I made a few substitutions: 1. I used only whole wheat flour, since I was out of white. 2. Left out the wheat bran, since I also didn't have it. 3. Whole milk instead of buttermilk. Next time I might add some cinnamon. Awesome with coffee for my afternoon fika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystaB.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
These are AMAZING! I made with brown sugar instead of white, wheat bran instead of oat bran (didn't have oat bran), applesauce instead of oil (heaping table spoon), 3 or 4 baby bananas, sour cream instead of buttermilk (didn't have milk or buttermilk), and added frozen raspberries, chia seeds and flax seeds. Cooked for about 17 mins. They were fantastic - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great muffin! Great as is, but better with 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 white, and I used cranberries the last time. I think any frozen berry will do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States