Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I really wanted to like them. I found both this recipe and another called "Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins" at the same time in my search for a more nutritional muffin. I made them both within days of each other and there was no comparison. These are dry, flavorless and have that roughage texture. And they only get drier as the days go on so I still have 6 sitting on the counter with no takers. The other recipe's muffins were gone in a flash, so I'm afraid the print out for this one is going straight to the recycle bin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
AWESOME!! As so many others have stated this recipe is VERY amenable to variation! I used banana and strawberries ...yum yum! I used all wheat pastry flour, 1/2 brown sugar- 1/2 Splenda (no white sugar), strawberry applesauce for the oil, and 2 Egg Beaters in place of whole egg, 2 packs bananas and cream instant oatmeal in place of oatmeal and oat bran (didn't have). Used slivered almonds for walnuts (personal choice).. Also added almond extract, cinnamon, nutmeg. INCREDIBLE!! Hubby even likes them! Can't wait to try other flavor combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I guess I didn't want it this healthy. It was very bland and not sweet at all. And too grainy in texture for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Blueberry muffins were a Christmas morning tradition when I was growing up, but until this recipe, I had not found one I wanted to make my own. We really liked these! Didn't have oat bran, so I used wheat bran instead. Since DH is diabetic, I substituted stevia blend for the sugar. Also, my banana was a bit small, so I used about 1/2 cup applesauce, omitting the oil, and these were fabulous! However, other than substituting the stevia blend for sugar, I think these would be fabulous as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very nice texture and taste. Instead of a whole cup of blueberries, I added maybe 2/3 c. blueberries and made up the rest (to 1 c.) with dried cranberries and a few currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as it is, and it's become one of our favorites. Moist and delicious. I've also made this recipe with an extra cup of berries, chopped raspberries and strawberries, which is how I make it now. Delicious! Easy base to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My husband loves these! He eats one almost every morning. I often double the batch and freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Very happy with these. I made only minor changes - using 1 cup WW flour and 1/2 cup AP flour, ground flaxseed instead of oat bran (which I didn't have), a little brown sugar and stevia blend in place of white sugar, and I omitted the nuts. I ended up using about 1 1/2 cups of blueberries, simply because I needed to use them or lose them. I will continue to play...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
These are amazing - I make them 2-3 times a month and they're a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States