Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great for healthy muffins. I substituted flax for oat bran and milk for buttermilk. Mine still weren't completely cooked after 18 minutes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This is a wonderful healthy muffin! Very moist and tasty. I've tried many recipes for a healthy muffin and they usually end up rubbery, dry, or gritty. these were none of the above. I like cinnamon in my muffins, so I added a teaspoon. I didn't have oat bran, so I substituted ground flax seed meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riversong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My 12 yr. old made these for her Grandma to take to work with her for a healthy breakfast. Everybody loved them! Even picky Pops loved them. Grandma doesn't know if she can save the rest for the work week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Substantial, delicious and versatile. Bakes up great as is, but you can easiily make substitiutions as well. Freezes well for a ready-to-go breakfast. I sometimes omit blueberries, double the bananas, add some mini chocolate chips and bake them as mini-muffins for a healthier dessert choice for my family. Delicious with cinnamon added to the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
these are delicious, I did some minor changes like others did, I didn't have oat bran, so I put ground flax seed, instead of a mashed banana, I used unsweetened apple sauce, 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of almond extract, and the zest of an orange, I divided the batter into 3 bowls, on one added crushed walnuts, on the 2nd one added 4 diced strawberries, on the 3rd I added chocolate chips, for the different taste buds in my family, my favorites was the one with the walnuts!! ZOPOOH this is an amazing recipe thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyevans17
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a great healthy bb muffin recipe but I took it a couple of steps further to make it a little more low fat. Substituted the white flour w/gluten free all purpose flour (add about 10 minsto baking time), the buttermilk for almond milk, the vegetable oil for olive oil and left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Super moist! I followed some of the recommendations including all whole wheat flour, 1/2c brown sugar in place of white, applesauce in place of oil, and I used almond milk with lemon juice in place of buttermilk. I probably could have reduced the milk a little bit because these are crazy moist, but they baked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I love this recipe! They are so good and perfect for the morging! I don't have to feel bad about eating them either because they are pretty healthy. I did make modifactions that Chickadee suggested. Used 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (instead of using white flour and wheat flour), I used 1% milk with 1 Tblsp lemon juice (instead of buttermilk). First add 1 Tblsp lemon juice to measuring cup then fill the rest of the cup with milk. I also added 1 Tblsp applesauce (intead of oil) but next time I'm going to try 2 Tblsp applesauce to add more moisture. I also added rasberries as suggested, and it was amazing!!! I will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chill2231

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States