Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
When I want a healthy blueberry muffin this will be it. These are nice and moist and with extra nuts and blueberries added you get some in every bite. I think adding some grated lemon peel or more vanilla would make this muffin better. Thanks for sharing, ZOPOOH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Loved this recipe. I did not have oat bran, so I just doubled the oats. Added an 1/2 cup more of blueberries and 1/2 banana. Left out the oil & nuts (I don't like nuts). And used half brown sugar & half white sugar. My daughter thought they looked green, but that did not stop her from eating them. She really liked them. I did learn today they do not keep very long. (I had made a double batch) Only my one daughter & I were eating them. So after a few days, the muffin today was not good at all!! Next time I'll put them in the fridge in an air tight container. Will be making them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I followed someone else's suggestion to replace the wheat germ and oat bran by using 3/4 c quick oats and 1 cup whole wheat flour, since I didn't have wheat germ and oat bran. It came out fine. This muffin has a 'heartier' feel, not fluffy like traditional muffins, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I was missing many ingredients and they were still good. I had only white flour and sugar and 1percent milk. I did add some nutmeg and my son and mom loved them. I used 1cup of oatmeal because I didn't have wheat germ or bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I made these muffins for breakfast this morning and they were a big hit. Also filling - kids gobbled them up but then could only eat one (they also had egg & smoothie). Delicious!! Usually I try to make a recipe exactly according to directions before rating, but this recipe is very flexible so I wanted to share how adaptable it is. The few ingredient changes I made were accepted cooking substitutions, nothing very unusual. I didn't have wheat germ so I doubled the oat bran. I mixed vinegar with skim milk to make buttermilk substitute. No nuts because I didn't have any. And I added a tsp cinnamon to dry ingredients. The cooking changes I made were based on previous muffin baking experience. I think the recipe's instructions would be fine, perhaps just not as pretty of a muffin. Specifically, I mixed wet with dry before adding blueberries. Also dredged berries in flour before gently stirring into batter. (This technique keeps the berries from sinking to the bottom of the muffin and from discoloring the batter.). Then I let the batter sit for 8-10 minutes to allow the baking powder to work. (Used the time to clean up the kitchen). All in all, the recipe's ingredient combination and proportions were perfect and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Most amazing recipe ever...will def be making this again and again!!! Make exactly as said..love it...better than a restaurant !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These were very good and healthy for a quick breakfast meal. I got the calories to about 110 per muffin. Used EVOO instead of veg oil and left out nuts and added extra banana. Very moist. PS don't leave them out on counter for too long they will go sour by the end of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The kids loved them. I used applesauce instead of banana, raisin bran (minus the raisins)instead of the bran, and whole wheat pastry flour (for the ww flour) based on what I had. I added a little extra blueberries and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very tasty recipe. I did use white whole wheat flour for the whole 1 1/2 cups and they did not turn out tough. I used 1/2 cup evaporated cane sugar instead of white and added a bit more wheat germ and oat bran to account for some of a dry ingredient (the sugar) being removed. I also used pecans instead of walnuts--my husband especially noticed this and said really, really preferred the pecans. Muffins are sweet without being overly so. Overall, a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I would prefer more blueberries, and at least twice as much nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States