Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
These were delicious and made me feel less guilty than eating a regular muffin. I made changes based on what I had. I used a multi-grain baking mix in place of the wheat flour and 1/2 a cup of oat flour in place of the oat bran and whole oats. Skipped the wheat germ and used ground flax seed instead. I used a tablespoon of nonfat Greek yogurt in place of the oil, and 2% milk instead of buttermilk. Skipped the nuts altogether. Even with all the changes the muffins were moist and delicious. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by Rachel Sampalli
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This turned out great! I subbed fat free blueberry greek yogurt for the buttermilk, and cinnamon applesauce for the banana. I accidentally poured in double the vanilla but didn't notice an overly vanilla flavor. It was sweet but not too sweet and did not need butter. I had to keep it in the oven for an extra 5 minutes, which resulted in the edges crisping up, which made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Sampalli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe! I substituted pureed strawberries for the banana and decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup, but otherwise this recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
When I want a healthy blueberry muffin this will be it. These are nice and moist and with extra nuts and blueberries added you get some in every bite. I think adding some grated lemon peel or more vanilla would make this muffin better. Thanks for sharing, ZOPOOH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Loved this recipe. I did not have oat bran, so I just doubled the oats. Added an 1/2 cup more of blueberries and 1/2 banana. Left out the oil & nuts (I don't like nuts). And used half brown sugar & half white sugar. My daughter thought they looked green, but that did not stop her from eating them. She really liked them. I did learn today they do not keep very long. (I had made a double batch) Only my one daughter & I were eating them. So after a few days, the muffin today was not good at all!! Next time I'll put them in the fridge in an air tight container. Will be making them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I followed someone else's suggestion to replace the wheat germ and oat bran by using 3/4 c quick oats and 1 cup whole wheat flour, since I didn't have wheat germ and oat bran. It came out fine. This muffin has a 'heartier' feel, not fluffy like traditional muffins, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I was missing many ingredients and they were still good. I had only white flour and sugar and 1percent milk. I did add some nutmeg and my son and mom loved them. I used 1cup of oatmeal because I didn't have wheat germ or bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I made these muffins for breakfast this morning and they were a big hit. Also filling - kids gobbled them up but then could only eat one (they also had egg & smoothie). Delicious!! Usually I try to make a recipe exactly according to directions before rating, but this recipe is very flexible so I wanted to share how adaptable it is. The few ingredient changes I made were accepted cooking substitutions, nothing very unusual. I didn't have wheat germ so I doubled the oat bran. I mixed vinegar with skim milk to make buttermilk substitute. No nuts because I didn't have any. And I added a tsp cinnamon to dry ingredients. The cooking changes I made were based on previous muffin baking experience. I think the recipe's instructions would be fine, perhaps just not as pretty of a muffin. Specifically, I mixed wet with dry before adding blueberries. Also dredged berries in flour before gently stirring into batter. (This technique keeps the berries from sinking to the bottom of the muffin and from discoloring the batter.). Then I let the batter sit for 8-10 minutes to allow the baking powder to work. (Used the time to clean up the kitchen). All in all, the recipe's ingredient combination and proportions were perfect and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Most amazing recipe ever...will def be making this again and again!!! Make exactly as said..love it...better than a restaurant !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These were very good and healthy for a quick breakfast meal. I got the calories to about 110 per muffin. Used EVOO instead of veg oil and left out nuts and added extra banana. Very moist. PS don't leave them out on counter for too long they will go sour by the end of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States