Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These aren't the prettiest muffins, but they taste good. I soaked the oats & wheat germ in the wet ingredients (to hide). I also used frozen berries. 'Don't know if either of those is responsible for it, but most of mine had a dimple. It's nice they don't scream "healthy" either. 'Glad I tried & I'll probably make again, but decrease sugar to 1/3 to 1/2c. :) Next day: Very moist tops. I'll add more oats & less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Really moist and not too heavy even though it's described as a hearty texture. They rise well, but don't really brown on top. Tasted great with minor healthier substitutions: wheat flour, splenda, unsweetened applesauce (for the oil). 94 calories, 1.1g fat, 19.4g carbs, 5.6g fiber, 2.7g sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Love these muffins! So amazing! I sometimes substitute the Buttermilk for Almond milk and they are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Although they were moist, which I was very happy about, I did find them a little bland and they were lacking in sweetness (and I don't like a lot of sweetness in my desserts). To remedy this, I made a glaze with 1 cup of powdered sugar, a pinch of salt and about a 1/4 cup of maple syrup or so to get to a spreadable consistency. I think the next time I will also add some cinnamon and increase vanilla and perhaps add some honey as I would prefer my muffins without a glaze. I will make this again but with some modifications as it is a moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastytaters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Excellent muffins. Made just as the recipe states. Very flavourful and low fat! What more could you ask for? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Best muffins ever! I did brown sugar instead of white, maple instant oatmeal instead of original and all white flour instead of half wheat half white. I have had people asking for the recipe non stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitchenfun
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
These are very good! I have already made them twice. The first time I made it I didn't have a banana so I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce and it still turned out great. These are healthy without being too dense or too dry. I am sure I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I didn't have wheat germ so replaced with more oat bran and they came out very dense & you could taste that they were healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
These were delicious and made me feel less guilty than eating a regular muffin. I made changes based on what I had. I used a multi-grain baking mix in place of the wheat flour and 1/2 a cup of oat flour in place of the oat bran and whole oats. Skipped the wheat germ and used ground flax seed instead. I used a tablespoon of nonfat Greek yogurt in place of the oil, and 2% milk instead of buttermilk. Skipped the nuts altogether. Even with all the changes the muffins were moist and delicious. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by Rachel Sampalli
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This turned out great! I subbed fat free blueberry greek yogurt for the buttermilk, and cinnamon applesauce for the banana. I accidentally poured in double the vanilla but didn't notice an overly vanilla flavor. It was sweet but not too sweet and did not need butter. I had to keep it in the oven for an extra 5 minutes, which resulted in the edges crisping up, which made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Sampalli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States