Health Dynamics Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
My DD said, "This is like cornbread, only rye flavored!" It isn't a light and fluffy bread, but not a brick either! I baked this for about 35 minutes at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
Very good bread. Contains no wheat flour, which my husband is allergic to. Easy to make in bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Finally! I've been searching for a 100% rye bread recipe that didn't turn out like a brick, and this is it! Very moist and tender. I didn't have lecithin, so I just used an extra egg white. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fantastic recipe,my Danish wife loved it.For UK nationals corn starch is called cornflour.I baked it for three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe, will definitely make again. I doubled the recipe, mixed it in my Bosch machine, baked it in a long rye bread loaf pan at 350 for about 50 minutes. Turned out great! Yummy and great for my wheat-allergic family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is a wonderful bread... that tastes like real bread. I didn't have lecithin so I substituted extra vegetable oil in its place.. therefore I used 2 2/3 tbs. It turned out perfectly. This is going to become a staple in my wheat-free home! Also this was my first time using my new breadmaker so I found the cook time of 31 minutes as listed a little confusing. I however followed my breadmaker's setting for a 1.5lb loaf on Normal cycle (with a bake time of just under three hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Excellent, excellent bread. It has a distinct sour taste of 100% rye that impossible to get in a store. I ended up substituting one extra egg white for lecitin and using 3 cups of rye flour because the dough turned up runny otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Tried the recipes in my bread machine but was very sceptical that it would work. When it was finished it was only half way up the side of the pan and figured that my first assumption was right and that this was another loaf for relegated as fit only for making breadcrumbs. But when I had sliced the loaf to make crumbs the texture was similar to other store bought 100% rye bread, and it surprisingly turned out to a very tasty loaf, particularly toasted. I will make it again as that my wife prefers to eat gluten free and this loaf is tasty and economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Very heavy 100% rye bread. It did not raise and my yeast was good. We could not eat it. I hated to throw it away but crumbled it up and put it in the freezer for bread crumbs. I will go back to my other bread recipe with some flour in it as you need some gluten to make it raise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States