Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is a great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I did make a few additions as others did. The great thing about this recipe is you can tailor it to your tastes without any problem. I used a whole onion. I added celery, shredded carrots as well as basil, oregano, marjoram, cayenne pepper and a few red pepper flakes. As a final touch I added some thinly sliced smoked sauasge. And as always, when I make any soup I use boxed chicken stock. It is so much more flavorful than boullion or broth and not nearly as salty. After simmering together for less than an hour it tasted like it had cooked all day. So flavorful and wonderful!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
754 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I made this soup for its healing benefits, but I ended up loving it so much I'd make it anytime! It truly is "healing" and not just for cold/flu season, but this could also greatly benefit those with certain digestive conditions. (Cabbage being excellent for stomach ulcers, for one thing.) I found the amount of cabbage in the original recipe to be just right and did not add extra as other reviewers did. I did however, increase the onion to a whole medium-sized onion instead of just half, and used 4 garlic cloves instead of 2. I also added a little Italian seasoning to it, a pinch of cayenne, and a little black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
So yummy and easy!!!! I only gave it a 4 because once you make it your own it's a 5 star!!!! I did not use any oil, I used olive oil cooking spray to cooked 1 large onion and 1 TBS crushed garlic. Added water, all bullion, 2 stalks of celery, 20 baby carrots cut up, 1 potatoe, tom. w/ juice in can, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1/2 tsp italian seasoning. i thought the amount of cabbage called for was PERFECT!!! I did have to add an additional 1 1/2c of water thr. out cooking. Thank you for the great easy recipe!!! I'm guessing left overs will be wonderful tommorow after the flavors have intensified!!! Thanks for sharing!! This will rock this summer when i have those left over veggies from the garden i'm not sure what to do with!!!!! My boyfriend loved it as well which is a big plus as he's not a huge veggie guy 8 - )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Wow, is this a great soup! Absolutely our new favorite comfort food! I used chicken broth instead of water and also added some baby carrots and canned corn to my pot. I have made this several times now and it always turns out fabulous... is even better the next day. Eat with some crusty french bread and it's heaven! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen H
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
9/2013 I've made this many times and love it. Whenever I can, I add some kind of protein... usually beans (pinto, garbanzo, black...doesn't matter). The other option is serving over some leftover shredded chicken. It may just be soup, but with a little thought the nutritional value is excellent. I found this recipe to be perfect as written. It is not supposed to be a thick soup, but a consume based one. I think there is confusion about how much cabbage to add because they do vary in size alot. Maybe trying to pin down a weight (like 1/2 of a 2 lb head) would give a little more guidance. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I decided to try this last night since I'm fighting a cold. It was delicious! I did make a few changes though, which is why I only gave it four stars. I used 8 chicken bouillon cubes instead of 4, plus I added extra herbs & a pinch of red pepper flakes as someone suggested. I substituted 1/2 tsp. onion powder for the onion and used more garlic than called for. Since I left out the onion, I only needed 1 tsp. of olive oil to sautee the garlic. We served the soup with some French bread brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with garlic salt & Parmesan cheese then toasted. It was an excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Simply yummy, added lentils to the mix and a bit more liquid. it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCINNB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
we loved this soup. As others did, I changed it a bit. I used maybe 1/2-1 T of oil. I used a 48 oz can of low-fat/low sodium chicken broth and one C of water with 1 boullion cube. I added about a cup of carrotes diced and 3 stalks of celery diced (which I sauteed with the onions). I used the liquid from the tomatoes, too. Oh, I added 2 whole cloves of garlic instead of chopping and sauteeing with the onion. We may try it next time with only 1 clove or leave it out all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
try 1 to 2 quarts of low sodium vegetable, chicken, or beef broth instead of the water and bullion cubes..Can also add sliced mushrooms for a little different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Even though I'm not big on soup, I enjoyed my first bowl of it tonight. I used half chicken broth & half water, because I don't like strong broth. Also used a whole onion & whole cabbage, & plain stewed tomatoes; added Italian seasoning & omitted salt. If I do it again I would use fresh plum tomatoes in place of canned, because I prefer to stay with whole foods & avoid added sugar, salt, high fructose corn syrup, etc. This is definitely a nice way to use cabbage. Will probably do this one again. I gave it a 4 because of the use of convenience ingredients which are not healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States