Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is very similar to a recipe I use. I use a little less broth and add a pinch of Italian seasoning and cayenne and I top it with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. I also use coleslaw mix to avoid all the shredding. This is a good filling and low calorie soup with plenty of fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I was skeptical about making this being my first cabbage soup and having one review, alas, it was Delicious!! My dd loved it!! Not to mention dh said it was delish and it eased my cold too. Thanks for the recipe keep those 5*'s coming!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
A healthy, hearty, filling and cheap soup. Just what I was looking for. The directions couldn't be easier, nor could the ingredients be more simple-- all that and it even tastes good. I made a double batch and had it for lunch at work every day this week, and I'm still not tired of it. The reviewer who suggested Parmesan cheese was right on. When I first made the soup, I served it for dinner with a crusty French baguette that I cut into slices, basted with olive oil and garlic powder, sprinkled with a Parmesan/Romano mix and then toasted under the broiler. I also garnished my soup with some of the cheese mixture, which was great. I made my soup pretty spicy by adding some Cayenne and a good amount of fresh ground black pepper. My nose runs every time I eat it, so I'm sure this would be perfect for healing a cold. I ate it in perfect health and on the hottest day of the year, though! I think it's tasty anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
So simple and delicious. Didn't have Italian stewed tomatoes, so used regular diced tomatoes and added Italian seasoning. Family loved, even the little ones and my husband said he hated cabbage until I made this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Really delicious soup! I added corn to the soup to give it a little more bulk. Also, to make it a little thicker, I took about half of the soup, put it in the blender, pureed it, and added it back to the stock pot. This really helped with the texture. I also let it simmer, uncovered, for about 2 hours to thicken it up as well. Overall, it was very tasty and cheap to make too, which was great for a starving college student.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Made it without the tomatoes. (We were out.) I made this for my husband (I'm not a fan of cabbage soup) and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Great Stuff! I added some red pepper as well as one of the other reviewers. Very tasty soup. Excellent for using up all the cabbage in the garden. I didn't have parmesan cheese though. I guess I will try it like that next time. This will be one of our stapels in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
It was a good thing this soup was made from relatively inexpensive ingredients because the whole pot went in the bin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I thought this was a good soup. I did make one change which was to add one cup of dried lentils with the cabbage. I didn't have the italian tomatoes so added 1 1/2 tsp italian seasoning. Not the best cabbage soup I've made but it was good even my 6 and 5 year old asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Great soup. I've made it twice now and my husband just requested it again. Even my picky three year old will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States