Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I thought the soup was delicious, but only after I altered it a bit. Even though I used 28 oz herbed & spiced diced tomatoes (with the juice) I still found the soup bland. So I added onion powder, chili powder, crushed red chili peppers, italian seasoning and more chicken bouillon powder. Only then did I find it tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Excellent. Added leftover veggies (peas, limas), and kielbasa and 1/2 pound of hamburger. Also some additional spices as others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gdrescher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This recipe was fantastic and flavorful (I added a few extra seasonings mentioned by other reviewers)! I needed a way to use up leftover cabbage, but in the future I think I will buy cabbage for the purpose of making this soup. Love that you can throw in carrots, celery, or other vegetables you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Awesome anytime. I add zucchini and/or spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I really liked this recipe, but I read over the other reviews and made a few changes and additions. I used olive oil cooking spray at the beginning to saute the onions and garlic. I also only had the bullion cubes so I just added 4 of those for the 8 cups of water to make it with chicken stock. I added about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I also had leftover some leftover kidney beans so just threw them in and it was a great touch! Even my boyfriend who does not like veggie soups ate it all and more. Some hamburger would be nice in it too I think but still a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The recipe is pretty good and easy to make. I used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. I aso added some chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAITT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Had some leftover cabbage and a miserable cold so decided to try this even though I'm not a fan of cabbage. So glad I did! Used my own chicken and vegetable stock from the freezer, added 1/2 cup barley, shredded the cabbage and some carrots in the food processor. Delicious comfort food. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This is a nice basic soup that you can cater to your taste. I added julienne carrots, oregano, basil, italian seasoning, and a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Great, easy to fix soup. Lots of taste for few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lofo64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Not a bad soup, but not over the top either. I did as others reviewers and added: 3 carrots, 2 potatoes, & 2 celery. The last 30 minutes I added chopped kale. Definitely use a good chicken base & add about 1 tsp. ground anise to the broth. Serve with sourdough bread & butter. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States