Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Added miso and nutritional yeast to not only improve the finished taste but to add some nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My wife and I really enjoyed this recipe; it was so simple, yet so good. I only made one change (I can hear the growls now): I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken since we're vegetarians. During this week of record lows, it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
First off, I love cabbage. So this had almost no chance of disappointing me. And, as always, I added more garlic and cabbage than called for. Also added sliced baby carrots and used 2 quarts of chicken stock (less salty than the bouillon). Very healthy and sooo good. My Bohemian grandmother would have loved this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Instead of chicken broth, I made stock from a ham bone and then used the ham and added it after the cabbage and tomato. Also added shaved carrots, and the spices....marjoram, basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dj blaster
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great entree soup. My family loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
An absolutely delicious recipe, and very easy with its limited ingredients. I was sick and this was so comforting, and my husband raved about how good it was and had the leftovers for breakfast. I did make a few changes based on what I had in the pantry and another cabbage soup recipe I had just seen. I started by dicing and frying 4 slices of bacon (froze it halfway first to make it easy to dice), drained most of the fat and add 2 tablespoons of olive oil to cook the onion and garlic. The bacon added a mild richness but did not add a bacon flavor. Bouillon has way too much salt so I used chicken stock and no added salt. I doubled the tomatoes, and as I didn't have Italian Style Tomatoes used Fire Roasted w/chilies which added just the perfect amount of heat, plus I added 1/2 tsp. of Italian Seasoning. I served with thick slices of crusty bread! This will become a regular winter time meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe has been in the family for years! Always great taste, always good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was so amazing, just wanted you to know I added a little more garlic and onions, substituted lawrys salt for regular salt, and just can't get enough in my stomach. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Very good. I had left over chopped cabbage, onions, and carrots for slaw and didn't want to waste them. I added a little ground pork and had pork soup base instead of chicken. I felt this recipe would adapt well to other veggies and a little added meat or sausage. Served with good bread, it is a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Cabbage soup doesn't make me think mega like curries and sticky toffee pudding would but it does now! Thanks for the recipe. Added carrots and cayenne pepper to original recipe. Make again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States