Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is one of the easiest soups to make and it's one of my favorites. It's very tangy and fresh tasting. The veggies are not mushy as long as you don't overcook. I stop cooking when they are still nice and firm with just a little "bite" to them. I think you have to like Bloody Marys, tomato juice or V8 to enjoy this soup because it does have a lot of zing from the tomatoes and other veggies, but if you are a huge fan like me you will love it. As with any recipe here, only add salt to taste. I never trust another person's salt threshold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried this today and I loved it. I changed it up a bit by adding more garlic, onions, and tomatoes, and I added cauliflower. I also only used 1 tbsp of olive oil instead of 3 and plain diced tomatoes, and I used organic chicken bouillon cubes but I doubt that makes a difference. I'm sure the original recipe tastes great too. My recipe came out to only 39 calories/cup. Very low calorie if your looking for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Hubs has been asking me to make a low carb, low calorie veggie soup that he can “snack” on. I made this using chicken broth instead of the water/bouillon and a 1 pound package of pre-shredded cabbage. I didn't drain the tomatoes and used diced tomatoes flavored with garlic, basil and oregano. To bulk up the veggies, I also added one cup of each chopped carrots and celery. I only used about 1 T. of oil to sauté the veggies and added the garlic for the last minute. After that I followed the recipe. This turned out to be very flavorful and just what Hubs was after. So five stars from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I look at this soup as not just soup, but medicine. It is wonderful to have this when sick, and I do believe it helps. Instead of using chicken bouillon granules, I use chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Added miso and nutritional yeast to not only improve the finished taste but to add some nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My wife and I really enjoyed this recipe; it was so simple, yet so good. I only made one change (I can hear the growls now): I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken since we're vegetarians. During this week of record lows, it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
First off, I love cabbage. So this had almost no chance of disappointing me. And, as always, I added more garlic and cabbage than called for. Also added sliced baby carrots and used 2 quarts of chicken stock (less salty than the bouillon). Very healthy and sooo good. My Bohemian grandmother would have loved this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Instead of chicken broth, I made stock from a ham bone and then used the ham and added it after the cabbage and tomato. Also added shaved carrots, and the spices....marjoram, basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dj blaster
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great entree soup. My family loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States