Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried this today and I loved it. I changed it up a bit by adding more garlic, onions, and tomatoes, and I added cauliflower. I also only used 1 tbsp of olive oil instead of 3 and plain diced tomatoes, and I used organic chicken bouillon cubes but I doubt that makes a difference. I'm sure the original recipe tastes great too. My recipe came out to only 39 calories/cup. Very low calorie if your looking for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Hubs has been asking me to make a low carb, low calorie veggie soup that he can “snack” on. I made this using chicken broth instead of the water/bouillon and a 1 pound package of pre-shredded cabbage. I didn't drain the tomatoes and used diced tomatoes flavored with garlic, basil and oregano. To bulk up the veggies, I also added one cup of each chopped carrots and celery. I only used about 1 T. of oil to sauté the veggies and added the garlic for the last minute. After that I followed the recipe. This turned out to be very flavorful and just what Hubs was after. So five stars from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I look at this soup as not just soup, but medicine. It is wonderful to have this when sick, and I do believe it helps. Instead of using chicken bouillon granules, I use chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Added miso and nutritional yeast to not only improve the finished taste but to add some nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My wife and I really enjoyed this recipe; it was so simple, yet so good. I only made one change (I can hear the growls now): I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken since we're vegetarians. During this week of record lows, it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
First off, I love cabbage. So this had almost no chance of disappointing me. And, as always, I added more garlic and cabbage than called for. Also added sliced baby carrots and used 2 quarts of chicken stock (less salty than the bouillon). Very healthy and sooo good. My Bohemian grandmother would have loved this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Instead of chicken broth, I made stock from a ham bone and then used the ham and added it after the cabbage and tomato. Also added shaved carrots, and the spices....marjoram, basil and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dj blaster
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great entree soup. My family loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
An absolutely delicious recipe, and very easy with its limited ingredients. I was sick and this was so comforting, and my husband raved about how good it was and had the leftovers for breakfast. I did make a few changes based on what I had in the pantry and another cabbage soup recipe I had just seen. I started by dicing and frying 4 slices of bacon (froze it halfway first to make it easy to dice), drained most of the fat and add 2 tablespoons of olive oil to cook the onion and garlic. The bacon added a mild richness but did not add a bacon flavor. Bouillon has way too much salt so I used chicken stock and no added salt. I doubled the tomatoes, and as I didn't have Italian Style Tomatoes used Fire Roasted w/chilies which added just the perfect amount of heat, plus I added 1/2 tsp. of Italian Seasoning. I served with thick slices of crusty bread! This will become a regular winter time meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States