Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Wonderful simple soup! I service it with some added protein to make a complete meal. Try adding ground veal (balls). Even great as a snack..extremely low in calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a really delicious and simple soup to make. I used all organic ingredients including the spices and used 1/2 head Napa / 1/2 head Savoy cabbage. Rather than the bouillon I used some bone marrow broth (I am nearly entirely Paleo) and dried thyme that I grow in my window and keep hanging in my kitchen. I highly recommend adding two pinches of the dried thyme...rally punched it up for me! I also used a fresh carrot sliced thin and 8 cloves of garlic rather than 2. I can literally feel my immunity increasing as I eat it. I will make this again and again...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This soup is great. To make it even quicker and simpler I used a 12oz bag of Asian blend salad mix (Dole brand) which is already cut into small pieces and made the soup as directed but added basil, oregano and crushed red pepper to taste. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yummy! This was the perfect meal for a cold winter day. Fast, easy, filling, and very tasty. Will become a common recipe here, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chawk
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Thank you for this recipe! I followed it exactly and then added zucchini, chicken and shredded carrots just because I had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
simple made as is except no water just tomatoes (frozen)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This recipe is delicious. I made a few changes. I did not drain the tomatoes I diced them up and added the tomatoes as well as the juice to the soup. Other than that, the recipe is delicious! I make it once a week now because both my family and my boyfriends family love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy P.
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I've made this 3 times and love it. My husband even went back for 2nds even though there is no meat! I altered it by adding carrots & celery w/ the onion and added 6 stems of kale to the mix when the cabbage was added. I also added cannellini beans with the tomatoes. I used low sodium chicken broth but it needed a kick so I added a little seasoned salt w/ some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe was very easy to fallow but it needed more umph. I used 2 carrots thinly sliced along with the onion and garlic. Then I added 1/2 pound ground beef to my saute and made sure not to over cook the beef. Then added the water but cut the chicken bouillon amount in half and substituted the other half with beef boullion. Then instead of only letting it cook 30 min. I let it cook for 1 hour. It turned out great and was very filling. I think the next time I make it I will add half head broccali and a quarter head coliflower just for the health benefits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is one of the easiest soups to make and it's one of my favorites. It's very tangy and fresh tasting. The veggies are not mushy as long as you don't overcook. I stop cooking when they are still nice and firm with just a little "bite" to them. I think you have to like Bloody Marys, tomato juice or V8 to enjoy this soup because it does have a lot of zing from the tomatoes and other veggies, but if you are a huge fan like me you will love it. As with any recipe here, only add salt to taste. I never trust another person's salt threshold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States