Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I adjusted the recipe for 6 people, added 1# ground venison, about 3 cups V8, a cup of quick barley, and a pinch of dry basil and went outside to work in he garden while it simmered. It was amazing and inexpensive. Homemade garlic bread well. A definite 5 star and I think I see if I can can it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is really good and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Very very good and easy to make. Made this when I was sick and it was really helpful. I love cabbage and used a roasted spicy tomatoes and it gave it a slight kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Great as is and also as a base for other soups. You can vary it a zillion ways. Try using dropping in some cooked frozen meatballs. Try using Mexican stewed tomatoes, a combo of beef and chicken broth and add some chicken, corn, green pepper, and diced green chilies; pour over tortilla chips & sprinkle with cheese. Try adding a tall jar of turkey gravy to change the consistency. Try adding a potato or two. Thanks for perking up my imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
WOW!!! I had some leftover cabbage from cabbage rolls and made this instead of throwing it out like I often do... this recipe is a permanent new addition to my cabbage roll nights! The cabbage was frozen (for cabbage rolls) but I thought it worked very well for the soup. I just eyed out the amount of pepper and I may have added more than called for but I found the pepper overwhelmed the soup a bit so I will cut back next time (my boyfriend disagreed but he loves peppery food) So delicious and healthy/guilt free to eat. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this tonight. Didn't have the onion so I used onion flakes. Also added carrots and celery like the old awesome weight loss soup recipe. It turned out just perfect. My boyfriend and I decided we wouldn't change a thing. The broth was awesome by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOODCOOKERMOM
Home Town: Clarksdale, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Everyone in my family loves this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was honestly hesitant about this soup. It seemed really basic and I figured it wouldn't be all that great. I WAS WRONG! This soup turned out really delicious! It was a great way to use up the cabbage in my fridge. I added an extra teaspoon of garlic, celery, and carrots, all of which I sauteed in the beginning with the onions. I also added about 2 tsp. of Italian seasoning and an extra tsp of black pepper. YUMMY! This is great since it is all veggies, it worked out great for my Weight Watchers points!! WOO HOO! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Loved this soup! I made some of the changes suggested by other reviewers so my recipe looked more like this: 2 Tbsp. olive oil; 1 onion, chopped; 2 cloves garlic, chopped; 48 oz. organic low-sodium chicken broth; 1 tsp. salt; 1 tsp. pepper; 3/4 large head of cabbage, cored and coarsely chopped; 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes with liquid; water to cover contents. Delicious reheated as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Great as is. Simple, low effort to make this while cooking up your main dish at the same time. Good flavor. Low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States