Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This was good but I made changes. Used 2 qts of chicken stock instead of water and bullion. Added 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning, 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and left out the salt. There is plenty of salt between the stock and the stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alley
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is really good. The tomato is awesome and the cabbage tastes great. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I used 2 quarts of homemade chicken broth instead of boullion cubes and water. Super yummy and healing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made this soup yesterday because I wanted some homemade soup in the fridge. (I hate canned soup) It is absolutely delicious! At the suggestion of other reviewers, I added carrots, small white beans and 1/2 link of smoked beef kielbasi diced. Excellent! I will be using this recipe as a base for many other variations. Thank you JGCASE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYVIV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I adjusted the recipe for 6 people, added 1# ground venison, about 3 cups V8, a cup of quick barley, and a pinch of dry basil and went outside to work in he garden while it simmered. It was amazing and inexpensive. Homemade garlic bread well. A definite 5 star and I think I see if I can can it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is really good and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Very very good and easy to make. Made this when I was sick and it was really helpful. I love cabbage and used a roasted spicy tomatoes and it gave it a slight kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Great as is and also as a base for other soups. You can vary it a zillion ways. Try using dropping in some cooked frozen meatballs. Try using Mexican stewed tomatoes, a combo of beef and chicken broth and add some chicken, corn, green pepper, and diced green chilies; pour over tortilla chips & sprinkle with cheese. Try adding a tall jar of turkey gravy to change the consistency. Try adding a potato or two. Thanks for perking up my imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
WOW!!! I had some leftover cabbage from cabbage rolls and made this instead of throwing it out like I often do... this recipe is a permanent new addition to my cabbage roll nights! The cabbage was frozen (for cabbage rolls) but I thought it worked very well for the soup. I just eyed out the amount of pepper and I may have added more than called for but I found the pepper overwhelmed the soup a bit so I will cut back next time (my boyfriend disagreed but he loves peppery food) So delicious and healthy/guilt free to eat. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this tonight. Didn't have the onion so I used onion flakes. Also added carrots and celery like the old awesome weight loss soup recipe. It turned out just perfect. My boyfriend and I decided we wouldn't change a thing. The broth was awesome by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOODCOOKERMOM
Home Town: Clarksdale, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States