Hazel's Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The. Best. Meatballs. Ever. Totally addictive. They're even delicious cold the next day. I have made these a few times now, and they are always a huge hit. The sauce smells a little strange at first, but trust me, it's delicious. The perfect balance of tangy and sweet and simply yummy. Impossible to stop eating them. Our favorite way to eat these is in Hoagie buns with a slice of Provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I used the sauce portion only of this recipe, and put in a crockpot instead of oven. They were delicious! Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Pretty good! Even my picky hubby liked this!!! While I would never serve this as a dinner entree again, I WOULD make a few changes in order to make this suitable for serving as an appetizer. This recipe is VERY similar to the cocktail meatballs I've seen on many a party / potluck buffet. Having said this, I'll FOR SURE make these again but am just not sure this is an appropriate main dish. This becomes a GREAT appetizer by simply making smaller (i.e. 1 in. diameter) meatballs and DOUBLING (or even tripling) the sauce. And, as many others have done, I STRONGLY suggest pre-baking your meatballs. AT MINIMUM, bake for 30 minutes and then either finish in the oven, on the stovetop or in a slow cooker. I stayed true to the recipe this time with the exception of warming my sauce in a Dutch oven and THEN adding my (drained) meatballs and simmering on low for ~ 20 minutes. All in all, this is a GREAT recipe. It costs MUCH less than the traditional chili sauce / grape jelly version and pretty much tastes the same (who knew?). I can't wait to take these little gems to my next get-together! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Bakin' Machine. Your Aunt Hazel is a cooking genius! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Meatballs were ok. Unfortunately, the sauce was not good at at all I could take was ketchup and mustard. It was like eating a burger meatball. Still on the search for a good tangy meatball recipe. I would not recommend or make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Everybody in the family liked it. I baked the meatballs for awhile and drained the grease before adding the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These were just meatballs in homemade bbq sauce. They were a bit bland by themselves and the sauce made them good. The sauce was really good. Better than the meatballs. We ate these but the family was not impressed. I had the leftovers the next day for lunch but they didn't gain anything in standing overnight. This was a very easy recipe and it took no time at all to get in in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great meatballs, OK sauce, it was a bit too much ketchup for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
4 stars only because i think its a lil too much ketchup and too thick...i thinned it out with a touch of water. next time i make it i will cut the ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I thought these were quite good, but maybe not the best. I tried to make it exactly as written, using mostly 93% lean ground beef, and a bit of 85% I had on hand. For the cracker crumbs, I pondered a bit what kind of crackers to use - saltines? Ritz crackers? I finally decided to just crush a bunch of saltines. I judged the meatball size fairly accurately, since I yielded 37 meatballs, but I think a slightly bigger dish (than the 9x13 mentioned) would have been better - the dish was pretty crammed. The meatballs were midway between fall-apart and dense, and the sauce was good, but maybe a little too ordinary. Worth recommending anyway, even if this isn't the best meatball recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Kids loved it, so amazing recipe in my books! I made a couple adjustments but nothing major. I cooked it in the oven for 15 min at 400F and then moved it to the crock-pot for 4 hours on low. It cut down on a lot of the grease and made it so we could eat at different times. I also added a small amount of BBQ sauce and pepper to the sauce, then topped it with pineapple. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States