Hazel's Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This recipe was easy enough for even my non-culinary brain! I had my 8-year-old daughter help me make it and she thought it was fun. At the risk of another reviewer telling me that I have no business changing the original recipe and then reviewing it...I did make a few "alterations." I used 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound ground Italian sausage, onion salt rather than minced onions (it's a texture thing for me), and soy milk due to lactose allergies in my family. For the sauce I followed the advice of others and used 3/4 cup ketchup and 3/4 cup barbecue sauce, 1/4 cup dijon mustard, and omitted the vinegar. It got rave reviews from my husband, as well as all the starving computer programmer nerds..er..co-workers in his office the following day. I will definitely be making these again and trying different variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I cooked my meatballs in the oven without the sauce for about 30 minutes. During that time I simmered the sauce ingredients on the stove. I tasted it with a spoon and it seemed pretty mustard-y to me but I stuck with it and poured it over the meatballs after draining the grease and baked for about 15 more minutes. I served this over rice and the sauce ended up being delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made the meatballs exactly as stated in the recipe. My family loved them. There was a few leftover and my husband made himself a meatball sandwich the next day for lunch. He requests them about once a week. Even my 4 and 5 year old love them. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
A great meatball recipe with normal pantry ingredients. Made the recipe exactly as written. The sauce is ketchup based so it does taste like ketchup that has been fancied up - but that is what this recipe is about - using normal staples together to come up with something tasty and easy. Way easier than my other meatball recipe - so this recipe gets put in the weeknight rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Was a hit with the kids! I too cooked meatballs first so to make less greasy then added the meatballs in the sauce an together cooked a lil longer on stove top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Way, way too much ketchup (will use real tomato sauce in the future) and too much vinegar for my liking. The meatballs were ok, but they probably would've been better if they'd been done in a croc pot instead; mine got a little burnt on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My two kids (3 and 1) absolutely gobbled up these meatballs! Will definitely make again. I did cut way back on the sugar since we try to limit that in our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This one will be made over and over again! My kids even said it was the best they've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is a very simple meatball recipe but I won't be making it again. The ketchup flavor is a bit too strong and doesn't work for me. However, my 2year old daughter loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Looks good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States