Hazel's Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
So good my kids love it too. Is sweet so serve with rice to cut back on the sweet. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
These are EXCELLENT! Just like other reviewers, I love that the ingredients are all items we keep on hand. Super fast and easy. Great flavor, too. We made meatball hoagies out of the leftovers. Mouthwatering! I used a large cookie scoop to portion the balls, then went back and compressed them a little more. I made these per the recipe. But I did bake them without sauce the first half. However, I wanted more sauce for the hoagies. Think I will double the sauce next time. My family of six have requested them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Cooking these as listed could be problematic using beef and covering with a sauce. The grease would turn the sauce into a more unhealthy and unpleasant liquid than it already is so instead, I adjusted it to be healthier and tastier. I used 2.5lbs of ground turkey, medium sized onion, heavy cream (low carb) and crushed pita chips. For the sauce I used everything as listed except replaced the sugar with Brown Sugar Twin substitute and only used 1/4 cup vinegar. I also seasoned the turkey with seasoning salt, garlic mesquite, paprika and white pepper. Poured the sauce over the meatballs and baked for about 30 minutes. These turned out AWESOME. Slightly tangy, a tiny bit sweet and no grease. I also used a small ice cream scoop for even sized meatballs. With a few adjustments, this recipe gets 5 stars. As it stands it gets 3 as a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Wasn't pleased with this one at all. It was so overwhelming with ketchup and vinegar. My family did care for it either and my one child loves ketchup. Will be deleting from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
The meatballs were good but the sauce just tasted like sweet vinegar ketchup. I really don't understand how it has such good reviews from other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I love these meatballs. I have made them maybe 9 times so far this year. Also use half of the vinegar as needed. I don't mind the vinegar taste, but not everyone loves it. Still overall really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I'm only reviewing the sauce as my husband had already made a big batch of freezer meatballs. I adjusted the recipe slightly, using apple cider vinegar instead of white, and I used slightly less sugar than called for. I tasted the sauce after mixing the ingredients and tasted ketchup and mustard, as noted by other reviewers. So I added some chopped onion and let the meatballs simmer for about 15-20 minutes while the rice cooked, and the flavours came together beautifully! Really tangy, and I couldn't even pick out the mustard flavourful! Nice, easy recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this today, and they were great. I used bread crumbs, and a little less ketchup then suggested, but they were great. I would like more sauce next time, but less ketchup flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These were good. My daughter dubbed them "meatloaf meatballs;" the flavor is very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Made this tonight for supper. I added about 3 tbls Heinz 57 sauce to the sauce mixture for a little extra kick. The meatballs were very good and the sauce was great. Even my picky wife said they were good and she normally isn't a fan of meatballs. The only thing I did different was to bake the meatballs for about 30 minutes, drain off the grease, and then add the sauce and baked them till they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States