Hazel's Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I love these meatballs. I have made them maybe 9 times so far this year. Also use half of the vinegar as needed. I don't mind the vinegar taste, but not everyone loves it. Still overall really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I'm only reviewing the sauce as my husband had already made a big batch of freezer meatballs. I adjusted the recipe slightly, using apple cider vinegar instead of white, and I used slightly less sugar than called for. I tasted the sauce after mixing the ingredients and tasted ketchup and mustard, as noted by other reviewers. So I added some chopped onion and let the meatballs simmer for about 15-20 minutes while the rice cooked, and the flavours came together beautifully! Really tangy, and I couldn't even pick out the mustard flavourful! Nice, easy recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this today, and they were great. I used bread crumbs, and a little less ketchup then suggested, but they were great. I would like more sauce next time, but less ketchup flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These were good. My daughter dubbed them "meatloaf meatballs;" the flavor is very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Made this tonight for supper. I added about 3 tbls Heinz 57 sauce to the sauce mixture for a little extra kick. The meatballs were very good and the sauce was great. Even my picky wife said they were good and she normally isn't a fan of meatballs. The only thing I did different was to bake the meatballs for about 30 minutes, drain off the grease, and then add the sauce and baked them till they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
A great meatball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
If you love sweet sour foods, this is a saver! Quick, easy, delicious. Another time I'm going to add some chopped green pepper and a little minced garlic or garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The ketchup was really strong, so I added some Worcestershire sauce and chili powder for a bit of a zip. Great recipe.. easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Read the reviews, decided to substitute half ketchup, half BBQ sauce. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
No leftovers says it all. Good thing I made extra. I made small modifications. Substituted Panko bread crumbs as I had no cracker crumbs. Added a few drops of Worchester sauce to the meatloaf mix. I did bake and drain the meatballs, serving them separately from the sauce. I split the ketchup into half ketchup and half bbq sauce. Spicy brown mustard, as I had no yellow. Few shakes of garlic powder and pepper. I cut down on the vinegar (too much) and brown sugar (used a brown sugar bbq sauce). Served on toasted sandwich rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States