Hazel's Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Fantastic recipe. The only changes I made were to cook the meatballs in the oven. I then drained the fat, heated the sauce in a saucepan to melt sugar, then put meatballs and sauce into a covered casserole dish and put back in the oven for 15 minutes. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
My kids really love them and they are so fast and easy. I love how the sauce is so simple, but so delicious. I highly reccomend this recipe for kids or people looking for a new meatball recipe! I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Machine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
First of all, I want to say that the sauce is GREAT. I hate running to the store to get that one ingredient you just don't keep on hand. Everything in this recipe is something almost everyone has. The only reason I subtracted one star is because cooking the meatballs in the sauce makes for a LOT of fat in the final recipe. Also, I made this recipe with 1/2 hamburger and 1/2 sausage. That was MY mistake, NOT the recipe's. The sausage flavor was too strong for this sauce so, if you are thinking of doing this.. you shouldn't. Overall, the recipe was a huge success. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Very easy simple recipe. I added some oregano to the meatballs and waited until the meatballs had cooked for about 45 min. drained the fat out and then added the sauce. Delicious my wife has wanted me to make this twice now in two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rileysdad1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These are easy & very tasty. I was rushed on time, and didn't have an hour to bake. So I first gently seared the meatballs in a large pan, moved them to a warmed dutch oven, covered them in the sauce, and cooked on medium-low for 15-20 minutes. Came out just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Phe-no-menal. Greatly pleases the husband. I've never been a huge fan of meatballs. I chose this recipe because it appeared to be lowfat but it tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Way too much ketchup. I tasted it before I poured it over the meatballs. I added extra brown sugar, then worchestershire and sweet pickle juice to cut the ketchup taste. I also browned them first to cut down on the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is a delicious snack between meals or frozen and used at a later time. We adjusted the quantity and found it just as great. We used 3/4 cups catsup and 3/4 cups bbq instead of 1 1/2 cups ketchup. Unfortunately, they were so good that the last batch did not even make it to dinner. Everytime the kids would come into the kitchen; another little hand grabbed a few more meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So I follow this exactly and it is the best meatballs I've ever had and my family and friends loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Its really delicious my kids and hubby even my inlaws loved it, I add cup of cheese in half way through cooking absolutely devine...thanks for this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States