Hazel's Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
A very easy and tasty meatball recipe. I followed others advice and cooked the meatballs first... drained the fat and then added the sauce and cooked 15 minutes longer in the oven. I also added garlic powder to the meat for extra flavor. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newfield, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
A good recipe, but I find that I have to cook these for an extra 15 minutes or so or else they come out kind of mushy and raw in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
after making the sauce, i noticed it tasted a little ketchupy. i added a little cayenne, molasses, granulated garlic, and a splash of orange juice. much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
easy and great... i used onion instead of dried served over a bed of rice wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe is a keeper! I like sauce on my meatballs so I doubled the sauce and it still wasn't saucy. The next time I make them I think I will 2.5x the sauce. As an appetizer double the sauce was perfect. I added Italian seasoning to the sauce just till it looked good to me, about six twists of the grinder. I pre cooked the meatballs for 15 minutes, but using 97% lean meat I went ahead and added the sauce for the remaining 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I was searching for a sauce for the meatballs I'd made previously and frozen. Found this one and it was great. I did add a few dashes of Worcestershire and a little molasses. Poured onto the frozen meatballs and warmed in the toaster oven until dinner time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I would give a three and a half if I could. Not the best. But not bad either. I was just in search of the best.....so I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My friend made these and one bite and I just had to have the recipe. These are so simple to make yet so delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Meatballs were very good but did taste like meatloaf. Not a fav. of kids b/c they don't like meatloaf. I did sprinkle in some garlic and some beef boulion (can omit additional salt if u do this). They were VERY moist. I did bake the meatballs on a cookie sheet for about 20min or so and then blotted them with papertowels to remove some of the grease/fat. Then put in a 13X9 pan and baked for about 45min. Easy enough to make but really do taste like meatloaf meatballs. Oh, I did cut the vinigar in 1/2 (so I used 1/4 cup) and used champaign vinager instead of white. My mom made this as well and she used apple cider vinigar and was very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I was worried that the meatballs were too wet as they were a little hard to form but they turned out moist and delicious. I did bake the meatballs a little differently, I cooked them in a 350 degree oven for a half hour WITHOUT sauce, drained off all the fat, then poured the sauce on. My boys and husband loved the sauce, I thought it could be gussied up a bit but I was too tired to do so, other than add a teaspoon each of onion/garlic powders and a good dash of black pepper. As is, only three small meatballs remain out of this whole recipe and both my oldest boy and husband asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States