Hazel's Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
No leftovers says it all. Good thing I made extra. I made small modifications. Substituted Panko bread crumbs as I had no cracker crumbs. Added a few drops of Worchester sauce to the meatloaf mix. I did bake and drain the meatballs, serving them separately from the sauce. I split the ketchup into half ketchup and half bbq sauce. Spicy brown mustard, as I had no yellow. Few shakes of garlic powder and pepper. I cut down on the vinegar (too much) and brown sugar (used a brown sugar bbq sauce). Served on toasted sandwich rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BeeBee
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Great dinner. I reduced the ketchup by 1/2 cup replacing with water instead. Used only 3 tbsp of brown sugar. Roll them around in the sauce partway through cooking. You're a hero in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I just made this for supper tonight. It is nice, I had all these ingredients in my house already. I used Town House Crackers, and used 1 cup ketchup and a 1/2 cup of Sweet Baby Ray's original bbq sauce, and just a tad less vinegar than listed, otherwise did everything else as listed. My kids loved them, I thought they were really good and really easy. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dakota, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Very easy recipe. I did make some changes to the flavoring. I used half ground beef and half ground pork. Added more spices like garlic powder, pepper, chili powder and cloves. We didn't want a tangy sauce so instead of the ketchup etc. I put in a can of French onion soup and a can on cream of mushroom. I also seared the meatballs and put them in a dutch oven. Baked about 30 minutes and then drained the fat and added the sauce. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Ive made these several times but if you're making them with beef you're going to want to bake them first and then drain the grease and then but them back in the oven or crockpot to finish off with the sauce mixture otherwise way to greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Rally good recipe and super easy to make. We use oats instead of crumbs and we double the sauce and eat it with/over rice. Super easy dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
very good, took others advice and bake the meatballs for 45 minutes first without sauce and added it for the last 15 after simmering it for a minute on the stove so the sugar melted. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
With my changes, I give this five stars. I served it on a bed of Spanish rice. Absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
They were great even my picky three year old ate them! I used ritz crackers added pepper and Italian seasoning and parsley flakes. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The. Best. Meatballs. Ever. Totally addictive. They're even delicious cold the next day. I have made these a few times now, and they are always a huge hit. The sauce smells a little strange at first, but trust me, it's delicious. The perfect balance of tangy and sweet and simply yummy. Impossible to stop eating them. Our favorite way to eat these is in Hoagie buns with a slice of Provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States