Hazel's Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
very good, took others advice and bake the meatballs for 45 minutes first without sauce and added it for the last 15 after simmering it for a minute on the stove so the sugar melted. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
With my changes, I give this five stars. I served it on a bed of Spanish rice. Absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
They were great even my picky three year old ate them! I used ritz crackers added pepper and Italian seasoning and parsley flakes. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The. Best. Meatballs. Ever. Totally addictive. They're even delicious cold the next day. I have made these a few times now, and they are always a huge hit. The sauce smells a little strange at first, but trust me, it's delicious. The perfect balance of tangy and sweet and simply yummy. Impossible to stop eating them. Our favorite way to eat these is in Hoagie buns with a slice of Provolone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I used the sauce portion only of this recipe, and put in a crockpot instead of oven. They were delicious! Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Pretty good! Even my picky hubby liked this!!! While I would never serve this as a dinner entree again, I WOULD make a few changes in order to make this suitable for serving as an appetizer. This recipe is VERY similar to the cocktail meatballs I've seen on many a party / potluck buffet. Having said this, I'll FOR SURE make these again but am just not sure this is an appropriate main dish. This becomes a GREAT appetizer by simply making smaller (i.e. 1 in. diameter) meatballs and DOUBLING (or even tripling) the sauce. And, as many others have done, I STRONGLY suggest pre-baking your meatballs. AT MINIMUM, bake for 30 minutes and then either finish in the oven, on the stovetop or in a slow cooker. I stayed true to the recipe this time with the exception of warming my sauce in a Dutch oven and THEN adding my (drained) meatballs and simmering on low for ~ 20 minutes. All in all, this is a GREAT recipe. It costs MUCH less than the traditional chili sauce / grape jelly version and pretty much tastes the same (who knew?). I can't wait to take these little gems to my next get-together! Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, Bakin' Machine. Your Aunt Hazel is a cooking genius! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Meatballs were ok. Unfortunately, the sauce was not good at at all I could take was ketchup and mustard. It was like eating a burger meatball. Still on the search for a good tangy meatball recipe. I would not recommend or make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Everybody in the family liked it. I baked the meatballs for awhile and drained the grease before adding the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These were just meatballs in homemade bbq sauce. They were a bit bland by themselves and the sauce made them good. The sauce was really good. Better than the meatballs. We ate these but the family was not impressed. I had the leftovers the next day for lunch but they didn't gain anything in standing overnight. This was a very easy recipe and it took no time at all to get in in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great meatballs, OK sauce, it was a bit too much ketchup for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States