Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Nice basic dish where you can change the content! I don't like nuts in my food, so I omited the hazelnuts, I also used wild rice instead of orzo pasta (in smaller proportions to the long grain rice). I used lots of mixed mushrooms (champignons, oyster, shiitake, porcini), added carrots, seasoned it up with oregano n salt. To make it a complete meal I chopped up 1/2 chicken breast which I marinated in a bit of soy sauce to give it taste, then sauteed that with onions before adding other veggies. I used olive oil istead of butter and added a package of soup mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Great recipe! We made this for a dinner party and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yassiris Deen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This is really tasty and makes a great side dish! I use 1 cup rice instead of 1/2 cup. Perfect! We also try a different nut every time we make this and it always turns out delicious! I make this with the garlic butter chicken from this site! Great match and one of our favorite meals! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
What a wonderful side dish! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I served this to guests, and they raved about how delicious it was (and asked for the recipe). The toasted hazelnuts added a great texture and flavor. A keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This recipe was excellent. I didn't have any marjoram, and so I used the seasoning packet from the box of long grain and wild rice that I used. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This was a very tasty rice dish, I will use this recipe many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE571

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This pilaf is easy to make and incredibly good. I've served it several times and it's been a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Yum! This was great, and original! Mine came out perfectly, not too wet or dry. I will need to stock up on hazelnuts when they are on sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
My fiance and I whipped this recipe together last night. With her first forkful she exclaimed,"this is a keeper!" I agree. Easy, flavorful and different. I bet this dish would make a good good stuffing for poultry or pork. We will make this often,I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I used brown rice and it took a little longer to cook then stated but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States