Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Excellent! I used slivered almonds too and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is a very good, flexible recipe that will work well with many different ingredients. I used only 1 tablespoon of unsalted butter and 2 tablespoons of olive oil to saute. The butter did not add any noticeable flavor improvement to the dish so next time I'll just use the olive oil, (it's healthier too!). I had no hazelnuts on hand, so I substituted toasted pignoli nuts and they worked splendidly. Will try incorporating finely chopped carrots and other veggies next time. My husband enjoyed it very much and referred to it as gourmet Rice-a-Roni. Thanks Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Big Eyes
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Great recipe. Served this with & went very well with the "Anniversary Chicken I" (from this website) & broccoli/cheese. This pilaf had a wonderful flavor. I will add a TBSP of minced garlic next time as our family loves garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Wow! This is soooooo good! I didn't change a thing and it was awesome! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Very nice taste. No comment other than fact I'd probably do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
A good quick dish. A bit too greasy - next time I will cut the butter in half. I added some veggie chicken strips at the end and it made a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Used chopped almonds and more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was really good. I added cooked diced chicken to make a complete meal and my husband loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I did not make the recipe as stated but I figured it had a lot of room to improvise if you want. I used the celery onion and butter but also added garlic. I didn't use mushrooms or the hazelnuts, but I used chopped toasted pine nuts, and instead of marjoram I used 1 tsp tarragon, 1 tbsp freeze dried parsley, the juice of half a lemon and a bay leaf. I used 2/3c Jasmine Rice and 1/3c orzo and used the full 2 cups of chicken broth. Really great base recipe where using whatever ingredients you have on hand will still make a tasty side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I messed it up and everyone still loved it! Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States