Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I loved this! I left out the celery and the marjoram (didn't have any), and used slivered almonds instead of hazelnuts. The rice was still pretty crunchy, and I'm not sure if that's supposed to happen? Or maybe I used the wrong kind... either way it was REALLY good! April 14th, 2009: Made it again with a different kind of rice.. and yes I must have used the wrong kind last time. This time I left out nuts (didn't have any) and used beef broth instead. Again left out the celery and marjoram. I like it better with the beef broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was really very good. Used beef broth instead of chicken because I was serving it with beef and used toasted sliced almonds instead of hazelnuts. Also didn't have any mushrooms so just left them out. Husband really liked it. Think I'd like it as written also. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This recipe was REALLY good! Perfect amount of seasoning. I omitted the hazelnuts,stirred in fresh baby spinach and parmesan cheese right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was so great! I made it for Father's Day when I had my family meet my finace's family, so I was nervous about the meal. It was so good that my gormet cook grandma even loved it. Everyone had seconds and thirds. I made it with slivered almonds instead of hazelnuts as I prefer them. This will be a regular at my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
We loved this recipe. I used slivered almonds instead of hazelnuts, because that's what we prefer. Otherwise made the recipe as it is submitted. It was great! I made it to take to another house so I actually added a little more broth, because I knew it would stay moister that way!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This recipe is amazing! I have made it several times, and even though I didn't have hazelnuts, I used almonds and it was fantastic! I doubled the mushrooms and onions because we love them! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedVictoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear River City, Utah, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I LOVE IT!!! SUCH BUTTERY MUSHROOMY GOODNESS!!!! And it's SO EASY to make!!! I'll DEFINATELY make this again....it's my new favorite side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very good side dish and easy to make. I served it to company and all went back for seconds. I used roasted slivered almonds instead of hazelnuts because it was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Recipe is very simple to follow and as many of the review state. One you can use with many other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
What a fabulous flavor! You can serve this side dish with a full flavored meat course and it will hold its own. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States