Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was really good. Definitely a keeper. Changes: I ended up halving the butter and cutting in hazelnut oil, since I had it on hand and I didn't have any hazelnuts. Couldn't really taste the hazelnut though. I think I might try it again with only hazelnut oil. I also substituted the marjoram with oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoosePhysh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Good recipe but need to work with it. I will try without butter next time (too heavy) and try longer cooking time (was a lot of liquid left).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fabulous! The hazelnuts flavored the pilaf beautifully. This goes perfectly with salmon (particularly if the salmon is seasoned with Paul Prouhomme's Magic Salmon Seasoning). I made it for my mom and my husband; my mom asked for the recipe and my husband asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I really loved the nuts in this. I did not have hazelnuts, but I toasted up some almonds and they worked great. The flavor in this reminded me a bit of a Thanksgiving stuffing. Perhaps because of the celery. I added a couple pinches of Kosher salt before bringing it to a boil and I'm glad I did. I will make this again, and also experiment with it. Using chicken broth and nuts is a great idea. In case you don't have marjoram on hand and really want to make this, oregano is a stronger flavored cousin of marjoram, so you can substitute and use oregano, but just a bit less than the called for amount of marjoram, about a 3:2 ratio marjoram:oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Wonderful rice! I've made this 3 times. Twice I used almonds because I can't find hazelnuts at the grocery. It is a crunchy dish with the almonds and I like it better without. You do need to keep the measurements for the rice, pasta, and chicken broth the same but you can be really messy with the vegetables and spices. Its a really excellent savory dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I have made this several times already, this time without the hazelnuts.We prefer it without the nuts. I also like to dice or more like mince up my mushrooms,onion, celery all the same size. Very good side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Good recipe but not great. The hazelnuts seemed a bit out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Awesome! I didnt have hazelnuts, so I used toasted almond slices instead. It was great! I'm a vegetarian, so I used veg broth instead of chicken. I also used a mix of white and wild rice for the long-grain rice. I'll try added 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar with the broth and reduce the butter to 3 tbsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was really good! I noticed that a lot of people were using other nuts but I really recommend the hazelnuts if you can find them. They're delicious and add a really nice fall flavor to the dish. My husband and I ate this as a main dish so we doubled the onions and mushrooms to make it heartier and used veggie broth instead of chicken and served it with a side of roasted squash. Next time I'll double the recipe so we have more leftovers. Delicious for so few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States