Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
2x'ed recipe and made it with brown rice and needed more time to cook. May cut down on butter next time (half butter half olive oil?). Was rich and delicious. But maybe a little too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made this for Christmas dinner. Made it exact to the recipe and we loved it! Amazing taste and loved the texture with the crunch. Was my favorite thing for our special dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Very good! Made a few changes. Skipped the orzo and in place of long grained rice, I used 1 cup of uncooked wild rice instead. I omitted the celery, but doubled the mushrooms (and used baby bellas). Lastly, I stirred in fresh spinach at the end based on another review and it was a great addition. My husband really liked it, but I think next time I'll try it without the hazelnuts to see how it compares... and I'll plan to use less butter as well to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I loved this side dish. I used pine nuts instead of hazelnuts (it was what I had in the pantry) and jasmine rice. Added about double the mushrooms, otherwise kept everything the same. I thought it could use a little salt but that's easy enough to add to your own serving once it's ready to eat. It might have also been because I used low-sodium chicken broth. Served this on the side of Slow Cooker Chicken BBQ from this site. I will be making this again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was really tasty. The only thing I did different was to not add the hazelnuts but I dont think it matter much. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I didn't add the nuts because I didn't think the young kids would like the taste. Overall, this was great and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Almost perfect. Next time I'll use less butter as I found it a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Nice subtle flavor which paired nicely with our grilled tilapia last night. I increased the orzo to 1/2 cup because I thought the ratio of rice/orzo to broth was off a bit. The only other change I made was to use toasted almonds. I'll make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Great flavour. I added asparagus and used roasted cashews instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This recipe is the best. I catered a church banquet and made this as a side dish. I made the recipe as follows wit the exception of 1 thing. i used sliced almonds instead of hazelnuts. This is definitely a family favorite:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States