Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Great recipe! We made this for a dinner party and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ymdst1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Nice basic dish where you can change the content! I don't like nuts in my food, so I omited the hazelnuts, I also used wild rice instead of orzo pasta (in smaller proportions to the long grain rice). I used lots of mixed mushrooms (champignons, oyster, shiitake, porcini), added carrots, seasoned it up with oregano n salt. To make it a complete meal I chopped up 1/2 chicken breast which I marinated in a bit of soy sauce to give it taste, then sauteed that with onions before adding other veggies. I used olive oil istead of butter and added a package of soup mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Really good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
WOW! We served this to our friends and they said they thought they were at a five star restaurant. I did make some changes...omitted celery and used pecans and brown rice instead. Mmmmmmmmm! I might replace the butter with olive oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This was very good, healthier than your average rice, or at least you feel healthier eating it. My roomate liked it very much, just the way it is, I added salt to mine but other than that,very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This was a nice change from traditional rice, and while it was very tasty, I don't think I cared for the hazelnuts in it. I would definitely make it again, but I think next time I might add in some chopped water chestnuts for a little crunch without all the competing flavours of the nuts. I also took the advice of others and added about 14 C extra rice to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fay Mayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Wow, such fabulous flavor and texture! I used a tad more orzo than called for just because I had a few grains left in the box and I dumped them in anyway. I didn't adjust the liquid and was worried it would come out dry. On the contrary, it came out a bit moister than I prefer (but that didn't stop me from helping myself to three servings!). Next time, I will decrease the chicken broth slightly. Also, I used toasted slivered almonds out of personal preference. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This is a very yummy and attractive side dish. We used sliced 'baby portabello mushrooms' which maintained a nice texture. The rice is easy to prepare and can sit unattended while you are preparing the rest of the meal or eating a first course. Thanks for such a good simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I made on a week night and it was super easy and fast. Plus it tastes great and looks professional. I didn't find any hazelnuts at the store, but it was still really tasty, I am sure that it is even better with them. I will definately use this again for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I made it for a group of vegeterian members, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States