Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this a few times. It is great with or without the nuts...or with or without the mushrooms. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Very simple and tasty. No extra salt is needed if a bullion cube is used for the broth. Doubled the amount of mushrooms and even more could be used (including other veggies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Didn't add the celery because I didn't have any; and swapped the orzo for dittalini, again, because I didn't have any; swapped beef broth for the chicken; used Italian seasonings instead of the different ones called for; and lastly: didn't add the hazelnuts! So, my version was completely different, but we really enjoyed it just the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I didn't change a thing. Will make this as an impressive side dish many more times. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Stephndon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It's a San Francisco treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this last night and used sliced almonds as I didn't have any hazelnuts handy. Served this with a grilled pork tenderloin and Chef John's "Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts". What a great combination!! Super yum and a great dinner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
this was really good. i'll be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Tasted good, but the rice didn't brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
A perfect compliment to lamb, grilled chicken, fish, anything really. I usually use pastina in place of the orzo. If I'm out of celery I use celery salt and sometimes shallots in place of the onions. It's pretty adaptable. Oregano can be subbed in for the marjoram. I have used almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, and pine nuts with the same great results. If you really want to put this over the top, add some chunks of goat cheese right before serving. I make this about once a week now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious, I was going to use almonds because I did not have hazelnuts but then I forgot the almonds. Even without them the rice was incredible. My husband could not stop raving. Followed the recipe as is except for my forgetfulness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States