Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Didn't add the celery because I didn't have any; and swapped the orzo for dittalini, again, because I didn't have any; swapped beef broth for the chicken; used Italian seasonings instead of the different ones called for; and lastly: didn't add the hazelnuts! So, my version was completely different, but we really enjoyed it just the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I didn't change a thing. Will make this as an impressive side dish many more times. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Stephndon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It's a San Francisco treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this last night and used sliced almonds as I didn't have any hazelnuts handy. Served this with a grilled pork tenderloin and Chef John's "Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts". What a great combination!! Super yum and a great dinner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
this was really good. i'll be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Tasted good, but the rice didn't brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
A perfect compliment to lamb, grilled chicken, fish, anything really. I usually use pastina in place of the orzo. If I'm out of celery I use celery salt and sometimes shallots in place of the onions. It's pretty adaptable. Oregano can be subbed in for the marjoram. I have used almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, and pine nuts with the same great results. If you really want to put this over the top, add some chunks of goat cheese right before serving. I make this about once a week now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious, I was going to use almonds because I did not have hazelnuts but then I forgot the almonds. Even without them the rice was incredible. My husband could not stop raving. Followed the recipe as is except for my forgetfulness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was great. I prepped the day before so it was easy to cook. The only thing I didn't have was chicken stock so I fearfully used beef stock. I like to follow the directions as written. It turned out fabulous. I will try again with the chicken stock but it had a full flavor with the beef. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyann
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Amazing! Ended up using slivered almonds because I was in a pinch, but it was so so good. I made it for a crowd and they all loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States