Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
The more we ate it the more we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved this! I did tweak a little, as I wanted to make like I remembered from years ago. I didn't use orzo, instead using 1 1/2 c. of jasmine rice. I did follow the directions and sautéed the rice, onion, and celery in a pan. I used a can of mushrooms, rather than fresh, and 1/2 c. of cashews instead of hazelnuts, and it was still really good. I did add approx. 1/4 c. of soya sauce to the rice while sautéing. Didn't add the marjoram or the parsley, but didn't miss them. I then put the rice mixture in a pan, added 2 1/2 c. of chicken broth and baked in the oven for approx. 1 hour. Was really delicious! Served with the Baked Pork Chops I Recipe from this site (has a delicious mushroom sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have made this a few times. It is great with or without the nuts...or with or without the mushrooms. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Very simple and tasty. No extra salt is needed if a bullion cube is used for the broth. Doubled the amount of mushrooms and even more could be used (including other veggies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Didn't add the celery because I didn't have any; and swapped the orzo for dittalini, again, because I didn't have any; swapped beef broth for the chicken; used Italian seasonings instead of the different ones called for; and lastly: didn't add the hazelnuts! So, my version was completely different, but we really enjoyed it just the same. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I didn't change a thing. Will make this as an impressive side dish many more times. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Stephndon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It's a San Francisco treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made this last night and used sliced almonds as I didn't have any hazelnuts handy. Served this with a grilled pork tenderloin and Chef John's "Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts". What a great combination!! Super yum and a great dinner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
this was really good. i'll be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States