Hazelnut Crusted Halibut with Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I have minor criticisms of this recipe and made minor changes - nevertheless it is a wonderful dish Hubs and I both enjoyed. The potatoes are perfect just as written. The recipe doesn't specify, but for color and interest I didn't peel them and added chopped fresh parsley at the end. Don't be tempted to just boil the garlic along with the potatoes - you'll lose a lot of flavor! I used the ground hazelnuts on half the filets, ground almonds on the other and Hubs and I agree the almonds were the clear winner. I love hazelnuts but in our view they're too sweet to coat fish with. I made my own fresh bread crumbs, seasoning them lightly with an Italian seasoning blend. I used grouper filets and brushed them with olive oil before coating them on both sides with the nut/bread crumb mixture. Because my filets were thin I didn't bother to finish cooking them in the oven - a few minutes in the skillet on both sides cooked them perfectly. The browned butter was a nice touch, but we agreed we could have done without it. I don't think it makes that much a difference in taste and all that extra butter just wasn't necessary. Omitting it would not diminish the dish and would save a lot of calories as well as an extra step in the preparation. I served this with fresh asparagus which was the perfect complement and made for a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Delicious!! The crust on this halibut is so, so good! I loved the mashed potatoes because I love garlic, but some of you might want to cut down from 5 cloves, but if you love buttery, garlicy mashed potatoes with tender halibut you will love this recipe! This is my new favorite and I can't wait to try this out on other fish. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I never had halibut before and it was delicious with this recipe. I had bought frozen halibut from Costco and defrosted it in the refrigerator over night. I did almost exactly what the recipe says except I used only about 4 tablespoons of butter and for the broth I dissolved a knorr's vegetable bullion cube and used about 4 tablespoons of that. I wish I had used more broth, it was very tasty with the browned butter. The recipe calls for 2 halibut steaks, I made 3, so I thought I would need to increase the nut/bread crumbs so I made 1/3 cup of each, it was way too much, the regular recipe is enough for at least 4 steaks. Overall it was an excellent dinner; and it was so easy and quick to make. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This review was based on the fish only, as I didn't make the potatoes as directed. I also omitted the browned butter, as I felt it wasn't really necessary. That being said, this fish recipe was excellent. I made this for hub's birthday after he came home with 30 lbs of halibut from an Alaskan fishing trip. I ended up cooking the fish in the pan completely rather than finishing in the oven - this is partly b/c I don't have an oven-safe skillet, but also b/c I didn't feel it necessary. I served with another garlic mash recipe from this site, steamed asparagus, and the beet salad from this site. We both LOVED it. NOTE: The recipe as written will leave you with a lot of extra bread crumb/nut topping. I kept the leftovers in ziplock bag and made this again a week later with following variations: preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray (easy cleanup). After rinsing filets, pat dry and sprinkle w/ salt. Lightly dredge in flour, then dip filets in milk, then pat into nut mixture. Place nut side up on cookie sheet and place a pat of butter on top of each filet. Bake for 8-15 mins, depending on thickness (ours took about 15 mins, as they are close to an inch thick). This version turned out excellent too, but was a little easier. I still had left over topping and used again for chicken (in the oven) - yum!!! Overall - fantastic recipe that will become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I am only rating the halibut....and it was great! I used panko bread crumbs because I like a nice crisp crust. It turned out perfectly. My 3 yr old kept shoving it in his mouth. I'm always looking for new ways to jazz up fish, so this is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara L.
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made some slight changes both in preparation and in the ingredients. I don't normally like using seasoned bread crumbs only b/c they're rarely seasoned to suit my taste. I switched in some panko bread crumbs (same quantity) and added in 1/2 tsp italian seasoning, and 1/2 tsp garlic salt. My fillets were rather large and they wouldn't fit in my saute pan so I lightly greased a casserole dish, and then brushed each fillet w/ unsalted butter. I sprinkled the seasoned breadcrumbs on top and baked it for the same time frame w/ the nut side facing up. Since I added garlic salt to the breading I chose not to add garlic to the mashed potatoes. This was a belly busting meal but OH my it was good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I am rating the mashed potatoes only which I prepared with a different halibut recipe. Overall the potatoes were delicious but I would use slightly less garlic...5 cloves is a lot unless they're all small cloves. I would also add a little bit of milk to make these potatoes creamier. Just add until the consistency is how you like it. Without a bit of milk, we found the potatoes too dry. Otherwise I'd rate the potatoes higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Substituted the hazelnuts with slivered almonds and it was fantastic. I also never thought to make a garlic/salt paste to add to mashed potatoes after cooking... it's way better than dropping garlic in while boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Restaurant quality and definately worth trying! Instead of mashing the garlic separetly I boil them along with the potatoes and just mashed them together in my opinion the mashed potatoes are a little dry so I added about 1/3 of a cup of fat free half and half. Used tilapia instead of halibut but I'm sure it's a lot better with halibut next time I'll use that and also didn't have vegetable broth so I used chicken broth. Overall an excellent recipe that we will be having many times in the future.Thanks Jas Bradley for sumitting your recipe. Elvira S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This halibut recipe is really good! All of my 3 kids (ages 7 - 2) love it, and that is saying something. I make this at least once a month. Personally I find it a bit labor intensive with a lot of steps, but definitely worth it. The first time I didn't use the browned butter sauce, and it was great, and the second time I used it and it was great too. I will probably skip it in the future just to save some calories. Overall a super recipe! Thanks Allrecipes and JasBradley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States