Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Garrison's Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These scones are very tasty. The ingredients go perfect together and they even look good. I love hazelnuts and they toast even more when baked. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
These scones are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
These were good, but basically tasted like a big chocolate chip cookie. I was looking for something a little different in a scone. But chocolate chip lovers will enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This is a great recipe for customizing. I used the same basic recipe, only the changes I made were: omit hazelnuts and choc chips, instead I added 1/2 cup currants and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, and I added a couple of dashes of baking spice (Penzeys) and changed the almond extract to 1 ts vanilla, 1/2 ts almond. These were wonderful and my family scarfed them all down. I'm lucky I even got one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty D Heyden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I baked these scones and brought them to work. There was nothing but crumbs left within minutes. Everybody loved them. I actually realized I had no Buttermilk at the last minute so I replaced it with Half and Half and they still came out delicous!! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
These were GREAT! I have made them twice, and i left out the hazelnuts both times (only because I didn't have any on hand) but I'm sure they would be good with the hazelnuts! I used mini chocolate chips once and regular ones the other time, and both times they turned out wonderful. My family loved them and I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I made these last night and took the advice of someone that said to use hazelnut creamer instead of the butternmilk and leave out the nuts. I also added a tiny bit more brown sugar to make them just a little sweeter. Although they were very yummy....I really did not taste the hazelnut at all. To me they just tasted like big chocolate chip cookies. I did the drop method and got about 2 dozen. All in all...they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This recipe is a new family favorite! I've long been searching for a scone recipe worthy of my favorite bakery scones, and this is the one. I will note however that for my taste the 1 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract is too much -- the almond flavor is so strong that it's like marzipan candy. I cut the amount in half and felt it was perfect, still noticeably an almond flavor but not overwhelming the other flavors. The full cup of chocolate chips will seem like overkill to many, but I'm a chocoholic so I was very pleased! It's also a lovely recipe made with dried cherries instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
these were pretty good. I made them with almonds instead of hazelnuts and used mini choco chips. My co-workers and husband liked them. I also divided them into rounds instead of triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I have never made scones before and these turned out very well. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States