Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
SO good! I did substitute the hazelnut creamer. Everyone raves about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Really really good...I took everyone else's advice and cut the extract to 1/2 tsp and put in about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, and they are perfectly sweetened. Great consistency, not too sticky when I put the dough on the cookie sheet, and came out fluffy and perfectly cooked at 17 minutes. Great recipe, seems easy to alter with different ingredients, want to try almonds and dried cherries next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
First time making scones and these are wonderful! I couldn't believe they turned out as I made a complete mess while making them - lost some flour out of the bowl, realized I didn't have buttermilk (used half and half and skim milk instead), and made an even bigger mess cutting the dough. Mine were a bit smaller, so only took about 14 minutes to bake and were great! Far more forgiving recipe than I expected! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Yummy! These were great scones! I didn't have buttermilk so I used coffee creamer but I followed the rest of the recipe as written. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I just made these and they turned out to be pretty tasty. I used only a 1/2 cup of chocolat chips and 1/2 cup of pecans (for the hazelnuts), but I would probably use slightly less chocolate chips in the future. Overall they were moist and just the right level of sweet! I still prefer working with scone recipes that have dough that is less sticky though. This was definitely a good recipe to try out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very easy & delish. I used almonds instead of hazelnuts bc it's what I had on hand & vanilla extract instead of almond extract since I also didn't have any almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These are the BEST SCONES I've tasted yet... They are delicous. Although not as easy as they would appear to be you won't be sorry after you've tried them. The Almond extract stands out amazingly, and gives the dough an excellent taste. I only had 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, so I added in a half cup of cinnamon chips aswell. I also didn't have hazelnuts, so I used sliced Almonds instead. The results were incredible. One thing I would reccomend, though, is to lower down on the chips and nuts, unless you like your scones jam-packed with toppings. Another thing the instructions don't mention is that its probably smart to flour the dough on the cookie sheet so that they are less sticky when you put them in to bake. Lastly, I personally paint my scones with egg whites for color, but I think that's more optional than necessary. As they are, the directions are great and easy to follow; the scones are grade A+, I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Except for the hazelnuts, which I didn't have, I followed the recipe exactly. These didn't turn out great for me, and not sure what I did wrong. They are a nice golden brown on top, but the insides are not completely done. There is also too much almond extract for my taste. I'll try them again, but use either less almond extract next time, or try vanilla instead. It gives me something good to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Simply lovely. They are tender, favorful and will be a welcome addition to my scone collection. The family will love this for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by komalishungry
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I'm munching on these delicious scones right now, quite happy with my first attempt at making them. Like many of the reviews said to do, I cut the almond extract down to 1/2 teaspoon. I didn't have hazelnuts so I left those out but I did add about 1/2 tablespoon of Nutella and wow!! so worth it. I also didn't have buttermilk so I put 1/2 tablespoon in a 1/2 measuring cup and filled the rest with half-and-half and I think that was fine. Yum! Will make again, maybe with hazelnuts or dried cranberries next time. I saw an episode of Desperate Housewives where Marcia Cross made these kind of scones with currants--maybe I'll try it with those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States