Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
This is the BEST recipe. I used fat-free hazelnut cinnamon non-dairy creamer in place of the buttermilk and left out the hazelnuts. A friend of mine from London says they are very authentic scones. Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I have made these scones (minus the hazelnuts) several times for guests and they loved them and asked for the recipe. I used 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips and that was plenty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This recipe is a new family favorite! I've long been searching for a scone recipe worthy of my favorite bakery scones, and this is the one. I will note however that for my taste the 1 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract is too much -- the almond flavor is so strong that it's like marzipan candy. I cut the amount in half and felt it was perfect, still noticeably an almond flavor but not overwhelming the other flavors. The full cup of chocolate chips will seem like overkill to many, but I'm a chocoholic so I was very pleased! It's also a lovely recipe made with dried cherries instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
This is a delicious scone recipe. Even my kids like this one. The chocolate chips and hazlenuts are a wonderful combination. Try this and you'll be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2000
these are so yummy, and for scones, they sure come together well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These are the BEST SCONES I've tasted yet... They are delicous. Although not as easy as they would appear to be you won't be sorry after you've tried them. The Almond extract stands out amazingly, and gives the dough an excellent taste. I only had 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, so I added in a half cup of cinnamon chips aswell. I also didn't have hazelnuts, so I used sliced Almonds instead. The results were incredible. One thing I would reccomend, though, is to lower down on the chips and nuts, unless you like your scones jam-packed with toppings. Another thing the instructions don't mention is that its probably smart to flour the dough on the cookie sheet so that they are less sticky when you put them in to bake. Lastly, I personally paint my scones with egg whites for color, but I think that's more optional than necessary. As they are, the directions are great and easy to follow; the scones are grade A+, I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
i made these this morning and they were wonderful. i did make a few changes due to the reviews i read. i used vanilla carmel non dairy creamer instead of the buttermilk and i add 4tbsp of chocolate hazelnut spread when i cut in the butter. the hazelnut flavor was fantastic i think in part because of the spread. i will definately make these again.YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljdmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My dough was not sticky at all...my scones were done in about 14 minutes. Maybe I made a mistake. I think I accidentially left out the brown sugar. They tasted like biscuits and had the same texture- dry and crumbly. I shaped them into hearts for Valentine's Day by putting a glob of dough inside a cookie cutter on the baking sheet and smushing it out into the shape. If I make these again, I hope they'll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
These scones are a wonderful way to entice non-scone lovers to try something new. Just go easy on the hazelnut/almond extract! (I used almond....very powerful stuff!) Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States