Haystacks IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I LOVE LOVE LOVE these cookies! The recipe I use is slightly different, however. Much less noodles & marshmallows... It uses 6 oz. each chocolate & butterscotch chips, 1 c. peanut butter, 6 oz. chow mein or rice noodles and 2 cups marshmallows. Also easier to melt chips and peanut butter in microwave on medium high power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
These are so delicious and so easy to make! I make them every year. They are a must in my family. I have requests for them every Christmas! I have to double the recipe just to make them last. One very helpful tip: I mix the marshmallows and chow mein noodles in a large bowl and set aside. After melting together the peanut butter and butterscotch morsels, remove the mixture from the heat and let it cool a few (3-5) minutes (otherwise the marshmallows will melt). After cooled for a few minutes, pour over marshmallow/noodle mixture and toss with a spatula until completely coated. Then quickly drop them by spoonfuls onto waxed paper to set. So quick and easy to make. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This recipe was a nightmare!! Made it 2x, once in the microwave and once over a double boiler. When you add the marshmallows the butterscotch and peanutbutter become way too thick and almost impossible to stir in the chow mein noodles. I finally got a hold of my Grandma's recipe which does not have marshmallows, the sauce is much smoother and easier to work with. Don't bother trying this one!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I used semi sweet choc chips instead and this turned out tasting like Reese's PB cups. I thought maybe adding raisins too the next time would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yummy! The marshmallows are a nice touch and easier on the teeth than peanuts and chow mein noodles. A few tips on these: (1) Use a double broiler if available. It's must easier than the microwave because the butterscotch is a pain to melt. (2) Regardless of melting method, melt the butterscotch about halfway before adding the peanut butter. I never could get the butterscotch melted all the way when I melted them at the same time. (3) Don't try to reheat the butterscotch mixture! I didn't have all the ingredients my first run and tried this and mutilated it. Hope this is helpful! Nice little treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
These have to be the BEST cookies ever! I replaced half of the butterscotch chips with chocolate chips and they were SOOO good! I doubles the recipe and made them for a party. The recipe makes alot to begin with, so about half of them were gone within 15 minutes of coming out! SOOOOO good! ps: for those who have complained about the "batter" being to thick, it really just takes time to mix but it really can be done! thank you for a great, easy, no-bake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Everyone loves this candy! Note: add marshmallows last or they will melt. I loosely spread mixture on greased waxed paper and leave out overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Finally, the corrct recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good and easy to make! My husband and I made these to give away in christmas gift baskets and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Good flavor but didn't stay set up once out of the refrigerator. May need to cut back on the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dickeyville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States