Haystacks IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
very quite and easy---people liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I've made these many times. They are very very good. I don't use marshmallows, though. I've always used salted peanuts. I don't like butterscotch, but, in this recipe, it is excellent. To upscale them a bit, I drizzle melted chocolate over the top after they've hardened in the refrigerator. The only thing you can do wrong is not try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Good- I used stick pretzels instead of the chow mein noodles for a little extra salt action and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yummy! The marshmallows are a nice touch and easier on the teeth than peanuts and chow mein noodles. A few tips on these: (1) Use a double broiler if available. It's must easier than the microwave because the butterscotch is a pain to melt. (2) Regardless of melting method, melt the butterscotch about halfway before adding the peanut butter. I never could get the butterscotch melted all the way when I melted them at the same time. (3) Don't try to reheat the butterscotch mixture! I didn't have all the ingredients my first run and tried this and mutilated it. Hope this is helpful! Nice little treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very good, I originally made them for someone else and ended up loving them just as much as she does. Thanks for the great recipe will for sure make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Turned out well. Only took 1.5 minutes in the microwave on medium high until was melted, but not hot so that the marshmallows wouldn't melt. Instead of measuring the chinese noodles and marshmallows, I just added until I had the consistency that I liked. A no-brain, easy, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
A helpful hint- If you are using store brand peanut butter and/or butterscotch chips you may want to add a tsp of cooking oil if your mixture is too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I have made haystacks for several years and lost my original recipe. I could not even stir this once I had it all mixed together. I agree with the other reviewer that there was far too many marshmallows and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
A great, quick recipe that makes plenty of treats for a crowd! Heat the chips and peanut butter over extremely low heat, stirring--it takes longer, but the mixture wasn't much warmer than room temperature, even when melted, and so the marshmallows stirred in just fine and didn't melt. As per the advice of other reviewers, I used fewer marshmallows, although 2 c. was not quite enough for my taste. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Used white chips and marshmallows with the chow mein noodles, added green food coloring to make Easter- bird nests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States