Haystacks II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I had heard that these were delicious & decided to make them for a cookie exchange. Although the taste was good, there were some modifications that needed to be made because they turned out too dry. Instead of using 5 (5 oz.) cans of noodles, use only 3. This will hold everything together without them falling apart. Also, scoop out about a heaping tablespoon worth, drop on the parchment paper, & then flatten out with the back of the spoon. People found it a bit difficult to get their mouth around the mound so I flattened them. After that, they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEADMEISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
With just slight differences in amounts, this easy and delicious little no-bake treat has been on my Christmas Cookie Plate for close to 30 years. I use 18 ozs. of chocolate chips, a 12 oz. pkg. butterscotch chips, 5-6 ozs. chow mein noodles (4 cups) and 6-8 ozs. of peanuts (1-1/2 cups). A sentimental favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I started making this recipe back in 1999 for a work party, and have been requested to make these cookies every year since. I end up having to make a double-batch because my husband ends up eating too many when I am not looking. I tend to use an entire bag of chocolate & butterscotch chips and a 12oz bag of chow mein noodles and 1/2 a jar of peanuts. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were really good! I did however change it a little bit. I didn't put in peanuts because I didn't have any and I used crunched up pretzels instead of chow mein noodles. The combination of sweet and salty is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This is an annual recipe with my bunch for Christmas. It isn't Christmas if I don't make them. Like chocolate bars. Just work fast when you are dropping them so they don't harden too soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I add coconut to mine and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This recipe is so easy and is great for getting my kids involved in cooking. I omitted the peanuts b/c my daughter is severly allergic to them. I added a few more ounces of chow mein noodles to the chocolate and butterscotch to take the place of the peanuts. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frannie916

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I only add 1/2 C of the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These are very easy to make - so after making roll out cookies, they really are a breeze. I used 1 1/2 cups of each of the chips (because that's how much is in each bag), still the 12 ounces of peanuts and 10 ounces of chow mein noodles, which seems to be a good ratio of chocolate and noodles. This recipe would be great fun to make with children - just have a facecloth near by :-). Thanks for the recipe Judy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
SO SIMPLE and quick! I used mixed nuts and added a pinch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States