Haystackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Did not need to bake these for 25 minutes. They were done in about 15 when the edges started to brown. I have to say that these cookies are incredibly good but oh so odd. When they came out of the oven I ate one warm and it was so gross I was gonna toss them all out. I did end up icing them a bit, truly, just to take a photo, but then my husband ate one and said it was so good it tasted like candy. I ate a cool, frosted one and I am addicted. We ate them all. Odd little cookie but really I do recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
The only problem I had with this recipe was the cooking time. I baked them for 15 min and they turned out much better. :) Also the trick to melting the chocolate in the microwave is to only use 50% power for one min then stir. It will not look melted but once you stir for a while it will become more of a liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The flavor combo on these sounded good so we gave them a shot. I like to be creative so instead of almonds I used marzipan paste. I tried melting it together with the chocolate unexpectedly it turned into a dough, it tasted great though. We went ahead and crumbled it and folded it as directed. Cooked on 300 for 15 min. and they were perfect. Not really a stack but they are awesome. Next time I will probably try just mixing the chips in unmelted and using almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewerton, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great taste and easy to make. I do agree with the temp or cooking time though, mine were turning brown already when I pulled them out with 7 minutes left. Maybe change the cook time to 15 min or lower the temp to 300 for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CasperATX
Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Not the best, they came out thick and pretty much tastless, I thought I was cooking them to long because the bottoms were burnt, but they were actually better going longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I had problems with this recipe. Chocolate would not melt, the dough was runny...so runny that I had to put it in mini muffin tins. Despite that, people still thought they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babytooth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I don't even like coconut, but I love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This desert is fun and very tasty but I found it difficult to melt the chocolate without burning it in the pan or microwave. I also found the recommended oven temp to be too high but that is easily fixed. Very very yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
Hmm maybe it's just my oven, but I think the temperature and cooking time are off on this recipe. I had my oven at 350 and after 20 minutes the bottoms of these cookies were burnt. So I lowered the temp to 300 and cooked them for 20 minutes, instead, and they turned out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States