Hawg-N-Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
Jackie Marie and recipe readers... While working at our small snack bar, we were looking for something QUIK-N-TASTY we could make with the plain old hawt dawgs we already had. Of course we came across your recipe and forever changed our snack bar lives. HINT-- the snack bar only has swiss american cheese, so we invented a NEW SPICY-N-DICY hawg-n-dog variation... Dice jalapeno peppers and put them in between two slices of cheese within the hawt dawgs. MMMMMM.... GOOD-N-SPICY! Also, we thought it would be cute as a button if the name were HAWG-N-DAWGS, with the "d-a-w-g." -Sally Jessy & Mary Tyler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I've not tried this yet, but came to browse corn dogs for The Big Game on Sunday. I'll bet these will make fantastic corndogs when dipped in cornmeal batter and deep fried. You'd probably have to cook the bacon a little before wrapping it to lose some of the grease, but it's worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndiCat798
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was awesome but I told my husband this was a one time thing for obvious health reason! Quick and easy if you have a fryer onhand. Really good with bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was a hit at my house!! Everyone liked it! Very little mess to clean up afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Emmet, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I havent made these, but I make something very similar except I use cheddar cheese...cook the bacon half way and then put them in the oven to melt the cheese and crisp the bacon! mmm mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bassprodallas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
quick and easy, definetly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I modified it by pre-cooking the bacon, heating the hot dog and cheese in the microwave, then the cooked bacon and cheesy hot dog were put in the bun to eat. We thought they were great! No added condiments; there was plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Made it the first time i saw it as everyone in my house LOVES bacon (in any form lol) and wanted to surprise everyone. Used the Jumbo sized hot dogs and wrapped them with 3 slices. Only one person in the house used the pepperjack (LOVED IT) and the rest used cheddar (OMG! Fantastic!) This is now made 2x a week and is a hit with our friends too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These were good, but I didn't make them the way the recipe said to. I had already cooked bacon and already cooked hot dogs so I just put the ingedients together and warmed them up... I served with tomato and some green onion with mayo, kinda like a blt hot dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My husband and my son really liked this, but I think I would rather have my bacon on the side. I think it was too much work for some hot dogs, but it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Fried PB&J Pinchy Pies

See how to make super-simple fried pies filled with peanut butter and jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States