Hawg-N-Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
Jackie Marie and recipe readers... While working at our small snack bar, we were looking for something QUIK-N-TASTY we could make with the plain old hawt dawgs we already had. Of course we came across your recipe and forever changed our snack bar lives. HINT-- the snack bar only has swiss american cheese, so we invented a NEW SPICY-N-DICY hawg-n-dog variation... Dice jalapeno peppers and put them in between two slices of cheese within the hawt dawgs. MMMMMM.... GOOD-N-SPICY! Also, we thought it would be cute as a button if the name were HAWG-N-DAWGS, with the "d-a-w-g." -Sally Jessy & Mary Tyler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I modified it by pre-cooking the bacon, heating the hot dog and cheese in the microwave, then the cooked bacon and cheesy hot dog were put in the bun to eat. We thought they were great! No added condiments; there was plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
So good, but soooo bad for you! I thought it was very tasty, though. The only thing I added were a few jalapeno slices, for an added kick. It was fun to try something new, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This was really good, a great improvement to hot dogs! We made ours in the deep fryer. We also liked bacon crubled over the cheese dog. They really don't need any condiments but I liked it with bbq sauce. We are going to make these for our next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This recipe sounded soooo good. Unfortunately too many flavors come slamming together. Sorry, I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I've not tried this yet, but came to browse corn dogs for The Big Game on Sunday. I'll bet these will make fantastic corndogs when dipped in cornmeal batter and deep fried. You'd probably have to cook the bacon a little before wrapping it to lose some of the grease, but it's worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
sorry but i didnt like these. maybe i didnt make them right or something. i couldnt taste anything but the hotdog. if i didnt allready know there was p.j. cheese in them i wouldnt have known. even the bacon lost its flavor. somebody tell me if i did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
quick and easy, definetly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These were good, but I didn't make them the way the recipe said to. I had already cooked bacon and already cooked hot dogs so I just put the ingedients together and warmed them up... I served with tomato and some green onion with mayo, kinda like a blt hot dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was a hit at my house!! Everyone liked it! Very little mess to clean up afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Emmet, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Fried PB&J Pinchy Pies

See how to make super-simple fried pies filled with peanut butter and jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States