Hawaiian Wedding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
The trick to making this not get soggy is to drain the juice from the pineapple and put the fluffy topping directly on the top of the cake, then the pineapple and coconut scattered across the whole cake. My family has been making it that way for years and it's the most requested cake we make. Also we double the topping and make it in a big jelly roll pan and use a butter yellow cake mix. It's delicious and making it this way, it keeps well in the in the fridge for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a great dessert. It's supposed to be a bit moist so DON'T drain the pineapple as someone suggested. The whipped topping should be refrigerated, not frozen -- you just have to make sure that your cake has cooled before frosting with the topping/pudding mixture. Follow the recipe and you will not be disappointed! I bake a lot of fancy cakes from complicated recipes, but my kids continue to request this one really often. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
What a GREAT recipie! It was so simple to make and tasted fantastic. I made it for a luau themed party, and everyone could not say enough about it. You could easily get away with 1 package of pudding and 1/2 the cool whip bc it made a ton of topping. I wasn't too disappointed, as I just ate the rest! The only thing I did differently was bake some shredded coconut and add it on top for appearance! Thanks for the instant classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have made this cake countless times and it is always a crowd pleaser. I let the cake cool completely before putting the topping on to prevent the topping from becoming a big liquid mess. Also, when you make the cake itself, replace part of the water the recipe calls for with pineapple juice. You really get the pineapple flavor throughout. I also top the cake with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Darn this cake is GREAT! I did not think there was to much topping because the next day, you see that the cake soaks up most of it. I did however use only 2/3 of the milk the pudding directions called for. Definately poke them holes big to soak up the yummy flavor. This is GOOOOOOOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I suggest leaving this cake in the fridge for about one day, to really appreciate the taste of the cake. It's a good, light tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My Family has made this cake for years. The only diffrence being that we mix half of the pudding mix with the juice from the pinapple and layer that first onto the cake, allowing it to soak into it through the holes and adding the pinapple to the whipped cream and the other half off the pudding for the topping and topping off with shredded coconut.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
We didn't really care for this at all. And make sure your whip topping is FROZEN or you'll have a puddle on top of your cake!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
A co-worker brought this to work today. What a great cake! So moist and light. I've already eaten 3 pieces and I am going to buy the ingredients today after work so I can make it for my family. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I love this cake. It is so light and refreshing on a summer day. I make it at least twice during the summer months. Everyone I make it for loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States