Hawaiian Wedding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My Family has made this cake for years. The only diffrence being that we mix half of the pudding mix with the juice from the pinapple and layer that first onto the cake, allowing it to soak into it through the holes and adding the pinapple to the whipped cream and the other half off the pudding for the topping and topping off with shredded coconut.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is by far a great easy cake!!! The top review made it sound like that cake was going to be soggy... Well let me tell you what. The only thing that I did do was to wait till the cake was completely cooled down (room temp) before you put the frosting (Cool whip and Jello Mix) I think that is the hidden secret. I did make some toasted coconut to go on the top of the cake. EXCELLENT CAKE!!! A KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!!! If you love this cake .. you will love the coconut poke cake... Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Everyone loved this cake! Easy to make and tastes great! You don't need to freeze the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cake is delicious!! I made some variations to this recipe. I used a lemon cake mix instead of a yellow cake mix. I drained the pineapple slightly. For the topping, I used one pkg. of vanilla instant pudding and 1 pkg. of lemon instant pudding plus the 1 cup of milk and cool whip and I sprinkled coconut on the top. It is very easy and has an elegant taste. I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Good! Everyone enjoyed. Definitely better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made the cake for a fish fry I attended. The guest and especially the host/hostess enjoyed it. They were asking you didn't put sugar in it and its soooo good. now my husband is begging for an encore of this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
made this for a Large family gathering and it was a huge success! I used the golden butter cake mix and it was SO delicious. not soggy at all but I didn't have the recipe in front of me and didn't realize I was supposed to pour the pineapple on while the cake was still hot so I did it once the cake had cooled completely.....but like I said, it turned out great. will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a great dessert. It's supposed to be a bit moist so DON'T drain the pineapple as someone suggested. The whipped topping should be refrigerated, not frozen -- you just have to make sure that your cake has cooled before frosting with the topping/pudding mixture. Follow the recipe and you will not be disappointed! I bake a lot of fancy cakes from complicated recipes, but my kids continue to request this one really often. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I have made this cake countless times and it is always a crowd pleaser. I let the cake cool completely before putting the topping on to prevent the topping from becoming a big liquid mess. Also, when you make the cake itself, replace part of the water the recipe calls for with pineapple juice. You really get the pineapple flavor throughout. I also top the cake with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States