Hawaiian Wedding Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Thank you SO much for this recipe! I made it for a dinner party I gave..This is such a light desert..can't help but to have a second and third piece!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I made these changes; I used 1-20oz and 1-8oz can of pineapple, drained, reserve pineapple juice to use in the cake batter instead of water, I also added coconut in the cake batter then baked it. I then cooked the pineapple in a saucepan on low heat with some butter and regular sugar until the liquid was absorbed and the pineapple tasted caramelized and sweet. Completely cool cake and pineapple then spread pineapple over cake. I used toasted coconut pudding instead, made with 1&1/4 cup milk, mixed pudding with cream cheese, add 2T powdered sugar and coconut. Since I always bake my cakes a day before I’m serving them I just stored the pudding in the fridge without the cool whip folded in, don’t forget to lay plastic wrap right on the pudding so it doesn’t form a skin. Then the next morning I assembled the cake, I folded the cool whip into the pudding mixture spread it over the cake then sprinkled the top with just a little more coconut. Then I put it in the fridge (it was assembled for 9 hours and did not get soggy), I took it out an hour before I served it, so it was perfect when I served it, it was still just a little chilled. I made it in a glass casserole dish a little bigger then a 9 x 13 so you could see the layers of cake, pineapple, creamy topping and coconut. I had to leave out the nuts because one person will not eat nuts, so when I served it I sprinkled chopped macadamia nuts on those who wanted nuts and a single stemmed cherry on top of each piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
THIS CAKE WAS SOOOO GOOD. We could not get enough of it. Like some others, I used the reserved pineapple juice from the pineapple in the cake batter instead of water. I also poked holes in the cooled cake before I poured on the pineapple. I toasted the coconut which I think made a big difference and I left out the nuts and the cherries. The nuts just cause so many people don't like nuts and it was for a party and the cherries cause I think it just didn't need it. The toasted coconut on top was perfect. It was GREAT the next day form the refrigerator too. Such an awesome cake and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This cake is truly the best cake ever made. Everytime I make it for a gathering, the cake disappears! People are always helping themselves to 2nds and 3rds. Passed on the recipe to a friend, and the cake disappeared at their party too. I didn't use the cherries or nuts, and found the cake to still be absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Delicious!! We had this at our luau style wedding reception! Everyone was impressed and wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I made this for a family reunion and people loved it. I had several requests for the recipe. A light-tasting summer dessert that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was easy and wonderful. The only thing I did different was beat the cream cheese till smooth and add pudding mix and milk in with cream cheese and beat till pudding set a little and then folded in cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This delectable cake was a BIG hit at a recent party! I will definitely add this to my collection. Next time, I will use low/nonfat cream cheese, and whipped cream. I added some additional coconut to the pudding/cream cheese mixture, which added a great texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Marcia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is great. I made it for Superbowl Sunday and everyone loved it. For a little variation, try using butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla. Also, use toasted coconut instead of plain coconut for the topping. Those tips will add a little more flavor to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This cake is very good. I added pineapple juice in the cake batter instead of water. Came out great without the coconut,cherries and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States