Hawaiian Wedding Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
THIS CAKE WAS SOOOO GOOD. We could not get enough of it. Like some others, I used the reserved pineapple juice from the pineapple in the cake batter instead of water. I also poked holes in the cooled cake before I poured on the pineapple. I toasted the coconut which I think made a big difference and I left out the nuts and the cherries. The nuts just cause so many people don't like nuts and it was for a party and the cherries cause I think it just didn't need it. The toasted coconut on top was perfect. It was GREAT the next day form the refrigerator too. Such an awesome cake and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This cake is very good. I added pineapple juice in the cake batter instead of water. Came out great without the coconut,cherries and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This recipe is similar to the "better than sex" cake recipe, but with some improvements. Making it in the larger pan really helps since the cake is a little shallower, so the pineapple is able to make it moister. It is even better the next day after it is made. I made it using the lite cream cheese and lite cool whip, also used honey roasted macadamia nuts and coconut on top, omitting the cherries since they "bleed" onto the topping and I made it the night before the Hawaiian Party we had. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Wow, this is good! I use a pineapple cake mix rather than vanilla to give it even more flavor. When making the topping, be sure to mix the ingredients well or you will bite into pockets of cream cheese bits. Everyone I served this to asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by guardian sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was easy and wonderful. The only thing I did different was beat the cream cheese till smooth and add pudding mix and milk in with cream cheese and beat till pudding set a little and then folded in cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Delicious!! Make for a family get-together and I had to promise to email everyone the recipe. I didn't use the nuts or cherries and I highly recommend making this a day ahead... it's MUCH better the 2nd and 3rd day! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M. Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is amazing! I got this recipe in college from my room mate Marcia,(not sure if it is the same Marcia or just a coincidence) and I make it without the cream cheese. I love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
I made this cake for a coworker's birthday and everyone loved it! It's not your typical birthday cake, but it worked great for the surfer theme we did. Out of all the cakes I have made and brought to work, this has been the favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Was very pleased with this cake. I only had a white cake mix in the house so I used it instead. I found that it was perfect for this recipe. I had a friend visit and she was thrilled with it..gave her the recipe! I didnt add nuts just because I didnt have any ..but it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This is a perfect party cake. It's simple, beautiful and incredibly delicious!!! I've made it about twenty times now and the requests for it continue at every social event! Thanks a million, Marcia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States