Hawaiian Wedding Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is great. I made it for Superbowl Sunday and everyone loved it. For a little variation, try using butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla. Also, use toasted coconut instead of plain coconut for the topping. Those tips will add a little more flavor to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This delectable cake was a BIG hit at a recent party! I will definitely add this to my collection. Next time, I will use low/nonfat cream cheese, and whipped cream. I added some additional coconut to the pudding/cream cheese mixture, which added a great texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Marcia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This cake is truly the best cake ever made. Everytime I make it for a gathering, the cake disappears! People are always helping themselves to 2nds and 3rds. Passed on the recipe to a friend, and the cake disappeared at their party too. I didn't use the cherries or nuts, and found the cake to still be absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Thank you SO much for this recipe! I made it for a dinner party I gave..This is such a light desert..can't help but to have a second and third piece!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Took this cake to a Supper Club. Good cake -- easy to make. However, there are much better coconut cake recipes out there. It was well recieved, but no one requested the recipe. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
We loved this cake! It taste so good when it is cold! Next time i will add a little sugar to the pinnapple beacause they were a bit tart. Other then that husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Soooo.. good! I make it all the time now. I've never used the coconut, walnuts, or cherries (only because I never have them when I go to make it) and it's great without them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I make this recipe all the time now and my family and friends love it! It is so easy and yummy! If you need something quick and easy this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This recipe is similar to the "better than sex" cake recipe, but with some improvements. Making it in the larger pan really helps since the cake is a little shallower, so the pineapple is able to make it moister. It is even better the next day after it is made. I made it using the lite cream cheese and lite cool whip, also used honey roasted macadamia nuts and coconut on top, omitting the cherries since they "bleed" onto the topping and I made it the night before the Hawaiian Party we had. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Delicious!! Make for a family get-together and I had to promise to email everyone the recipe. I didn't use the nuts or cherries and I highly recommend making this a day ahead... it's MUCH better the 2nd and 3rd day! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAGHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States